# Stroke Foundation Hamilton

**Charities Register number:** CC20069
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2007-11-15
**Sector:** Health
**ICNPO group:** Health
**Region:** Hamilton
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

To provide friendship and support in the Hamilton community for stroke people and their family/whanau by operating an active supportive peer support group who meet monthly to support their integration and socialization back into the community following a stroke. To provide a regular social lunch group which meets once a month to encourage socialization back into the community following a stroke. Empowering stroke people by encouraging them to run and govern the peer support themselves supported by a team of volunteers. Support their continued rehabilitation following a stroke with physiotherapy and speech language therapy at the peer support meetings. Visit members and other stroke people in their homes, rest homes, retirement villages and Hospitals for those unable to attend the peer Support groups. To complement and support the work of the National Salaried Community Stroke Navigator Service and the Hamilton Based CSN.

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — Small community organisation — the scorecard is not designed for entities at this scale.
- **Status code:** `community_group`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-06-30)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$25k
- **Total expenses:** NZ$43k
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$-18k
- **Total assets:** not disclosed
- **Total liabilities:** not disclosed
- **Net assets:** not disclosed
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$21k
- **Donations:** NZ$4k
- **Staff costs:** NZ$0
- **Volunteers:** 0
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=66edf616-4c56-f011-bb44-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-06-30 | NZ$25k | NZ$43k | NZ$-18k | not disclosed |
| 2024-06-30 | NZ$30k | NZ$31k | NZ$-581 | not disclosed |
| 2023-06-30 | NZ$11k | NZ$17k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2022-06-30 | NZ$29k | NZ$19k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2021-06-30 | NZ$19k | NZ$27k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2020-06-30 | NZ$67k | NZ$32k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2019-06-30 | NZ$32k | NZ$33k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2018-06-30 | NZ$35k | NZ$39k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2017-06-30 | NZ$28k | NZ$35k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2016-06-30 | NZ$45k | NZ$38k | not disclosed | not disclosed |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 8 current (37 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC20069) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **Grassroots Trust Limited** (foundation) — NZ$21k, year ended 2021-12-31

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-23
- Financials: last updated 2026-05-29
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-29

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/stroke-foundation-hamilton
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/stroke-foundation-hamilton/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/stroke-foundation-hamilton/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC20069

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/stroke-foundation-hamilton. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-29T05:27:26.308Z.