# Sports Medicine New Zealand Incorporated 

**Charities Register number:** CC38853
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2008-06-30
**Sector:** Health
**ICNPO group:** Health
**Region:** Waikouaiti
**NZBN:** 9429042727736
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

To encourage the scientific study of the physiological aspects of training and participation in physical activity during sport and recreation and the general dissemination of such knowledge.

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — The charity type has not been classified yet, so no scoring template applies and the grade is withheld.
- **Status code:** `unclassified`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-12-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$116k
- **Total expenses:** NZ$102k
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$14k
- **Total assets:** NZ$136k
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$24k
- **Net assets:** NZ$112k
- **Donations:** NZ$0
- **Staff costs:** NZ$30k
- **Paid staff:** 1
- **Reporting tier:** Tier3

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-12-31 | NZ$116k | NZ$102k | NZ$14k | NZ$112k |
| 2024-12-31 | NZ$50k | NZ$37k | NZ$14k | NZ$98k |
| 2023-12-31 | NZ$44k | NZ$65k | NZ$-22k | NZ$84k |
| 2022-12-31 | NZ$88k | NZ$98k | not disclosed | NZ$106k |
| 2021-12-31 | NZ$108k | NZ$128k | not disclosed | NZ$115k |
| 2020-06-30 | NZ$163k | NZ$152k | not disclosed | NZ$23k |
| 2019-06-30 | NZ$231k | NZ$243k | not disclosed | NZ$12k |
| 2018-06-30 | NZ$131k | NZ$145k | not disclosed | NZ$24k |
| 2017-06-30 | NZ$158k | NZ$170k | not disclosed | NZ$38k |
| 2016-06-30 | NZ$167k | NZ$155k | not disclosed | NZ$50k |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 4 current (25 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC38853) and on the charity's profile page.

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-12
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-11
- Rating: computed 2026-09-12
- This document generated: 2026-09-13

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/sports-medicine-new-zealand-incorporated
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/sports-medicine-new-zealand-incorporated/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/sports-medicine-new-zealand-incorporated/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC38853
- Charity website: http://www.sportsmedicine.co.nz

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/sports-medicine-new-zealand-incorporated. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-13T01:35:41.157Z.