# Sport Otago

**Charities Register number:** CC23149
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2008-04-17
**Sector:** Health
**ICNPO group:** Health
**Region:** Dunedin
**NZBN:** 9429042790235
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

Sport Otago is a regional sports trust dedicated to supporting more physically active lives across Otago. Established in 1983, we are a charitable not-for-profit organisation committed to enhancing individual and community wellbeing through physical activity. We work in partnership with a wide range of organisations to provide leadership, advocacy, facilitation, & coordination in sport, recreation, and physical activity.

## CharityData rating

- **Grade:** C+ (66.1 / 100)
- **Financial health:** 66.5/100
- **Governance:** 65/100
- **Transparency:** 65/100
- **Computed:** 2026-09-26 (methodology 3.11)
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-06-30)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$2.84M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$2.69M
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$145k
- **Total assets:** NZ$2.66M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$1.14M
- **Net assets:** NZ$1.52M
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$297k
- **Government grants:** NZ$1.36M (47.8% of revenue)
- **Donations:** NZ$893
- **Staff costs:** NZ$1.84M
- **Paid staff:** 34
- **Volunteers:** 0
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=3b820e7d-4c56-f011-bb44-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-06-30 | NZ$2.84M | NZ$2.69M | NZ$145k | NZ$1.52M |
| 2024-06-30 | NZ$3.21M | NZ$3.27M | NZ$-59k | NZ$1.37M |
| 2023-06-30 | NZ$3.34M | NZ$3.36M | not disclosed | NZ$1.43M |
| 2022-06-30 | NZ$2.91M | NZ$2.86M | not disclosed | NZ$1.45M |
| 2021-06-30 | NZ$2.77M | NZ$2.67M | not disclosed | NZ$1.40M |
| 2020-06-30 | NZ$2.33M | NZ$2.21M | not disclosed | NZ$1.30M |
| 2019-06-30 | NZ$2.32M | NZ$2.37M | not disclosed | NZ$1.18M |
| 2018-06-30 | NZ$2.20M | NZ$2.15M | not disclosed | NZ$1.23M |
| 2017-06-30 | NZ$2.17M | NZ$2.13M | not disclosed | NZ$1.18M |
| 2016-06-30 | NZ$2.06M | NZ$2.10M | not disclosed | NZ$1.14M |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 6 current (35 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** no
- **Auditor:** Deloitte
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC23149) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **Aotearoa Gaming Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$140k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **New Zealand Community Trust** (foundation) — NZ$78k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Aotearoa Gaming Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$50k, year ended 2022-12-31
- **The Lion Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$30k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Lion Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$25k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **The Trusts Community Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$25k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **The Trusts Community Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$20k, year ended 2022-12-31
- **The Trusts Community Foundation Limited** (foundation) — NZ$18k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Air Rescue Services Limited** (foundation) — NZ$7k, year ended 2021-12-31

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-25
- Financials: last updated 2026-05-29
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-28

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/sport-otago
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/sport-otago/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/sport-otago/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC23149
- Charity website: http://www.sportotago.co.nz

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/sport-otago. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-28T04:49:22.793Z.