# Southland disAbility Enterprises Charitable Trust

**Charities Register number:** CC44077
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2010-04-26
**Sector:** Environment
**ICNPO group:** Environment
**Region:** Invercargill
**NZBN:** 9429043191024
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

We enrich the lives of people with disabilities through providing meaningful employment & personal development opportunities by operating a successful and sustainable business.

## CharityData rating

- **Grade:** D (49.4 / 100)
- **Financial health:** 85.6/100
- **Governance:** 65/100
- **Transparency:** 65/100
- **Computed:** 2026-09-26 (methodology 3.11)
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** 2
  - staff costs above the methodology threshold
  - trustees holding many concurrent board roles

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-06-30)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$3.98M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$5.21M
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$-1.23M
- **Total assets:** NZ$1.95M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$944k
- **Net assets:** NZ$1.00M
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$72k
- **Government grants:** NZ$330k (8.3% of revenue)
- **Staff costs:** NZ$1.90M
- **Paid staff:** 6
- **Volunteers:** 0
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=78950ee7-4b56-f011-bb44-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-06-30 | NZ$3.98M | NZ$5.21M | NZ$-1.23M | NZ$1.00M |
| 2024-06-30 | NZ$4.38M | NZ$4.39M | NZ$-9k | NZ$2.56M |
| 2023-06-30 | NZ$3.62M | NZ$3.87M | not disclosed | NZ$2.62M |
| 2022-06-30 | NZ$4.04M | NZ$3.20M | not disclosed | NZ$2.89M |
| 2021-06-30 | NZ$3.21M | NZ$2.81M | not disclosed | NZ$2.05M |
| 2020-06-30 | NZ$3.37M | NZ$3.01M | not disclosed | NZ$1.66M |
| 2019-06-30 | NZ$3.06M | NZ$3.07M | not disclosed | NZ$1.30M |
| 2018-06-30 | NZ$3.02M | NZ$3.24M | not disclosed | NZ$1.31M |
| 2017-06-30 | NZ$2.90M | NZ$2.93M | not disclosed | NZ$1.52M |
| 2016-06-30 | NZ$2.89M | NZ$2.82M | not disclosed | NZ$1.55M |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 6 current (21 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** no
- **Auditor:** BDO Invercargill
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC44077) and on the charity's profile page.

## Service providers

- BDO — auditor

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-25
- Financials: last updated 2026-05-29
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-30

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/southland-disability-enterprises-charitable-trust
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/southland-disability-enterprises-charitable-trust/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/southland-disability-enterprises-charitable-trust/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC44077

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/southland-disability-enterprises-charitable-trust. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-30T17:51:38.986Z.