# Southland Beneficiaries and Community Rights Centre Incorporated

**Charities Register number:** CC30728
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2008-06-30
**Sector:** Health
**ICNPO group:** Health
**Region:** Invercargill
**NZBN:** 9429042725824
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

We work to relieve the impacts of poverty and promote wellbeing within Southland. We provide accurate and up to date information, advocacy and representation. We work primarily for the benefit of low-income workers and beneficiaries. This includes consulting with local, regional and national government agencies, and community organisations. We work to connect low income and beneficiaries with the support needed to assist them in times of distress and to achieve their aspirations. If our clients need representation with MSD that takes place at application time and when clients are requesting supplementary assistance including services and and items. We will represent clients at internal review, at benefit review hearings and at the Social Security Appeal Authority. Further, clients that are in receipt of the supported living payment also get representation if required at medical appeal board level. We do not charge for our services.

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — The charity type has not been classified yet, so no scoring template applies and the grade is withheld.
- **Status code:** `unclassified`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-06-30)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$116k
- **Total expenses:** NZ$166k
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$-50k
- **Total assets:** NZ$4k
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$4k
- **Net assets:** NZ$38
- **Donations:** NZ$113k
- **Staff costs:** NZ$0
- **Paid staff:** 3
- **Volunteers:** 0
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=c0fd28c3-4b56-f011-bb44-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-06-30 | NZ$116k | NZ$166k | NZ$-50k | NZ$38 |
| 2024-06-30 | NZ$171k | NZ$182k | NZ$-10k | NZ$51k |
| 2023-06-30 | NZ$162k | NZ$181k | not disclosed | NZ$61k |
| 2022-06-30 | NZ$209k | NZ$149k | not disclosed | NZ$80k |
| 2021-06-30 | NZ$184k | NZ$164k | not disclosed | NZ$20k |
| 2020-06-30 | NZ$143k | NZ$158k | not disclosed | NZ$174 |
| 2019-06-30 | NZ$153k | NZ$152k | not disclosed | NZ$15k |
| 2018-06-30 | NZ$127k | NZ$132k | not disclosed | NZ$14k |
| 2017-06-30 | NZ$140k | NZ$142k | not disclosed | NZ$19k |
| 2016-06-30 | NZ$154k | NZ$139k | not disclosed | NZ$21k |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 8 current (33 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC30728) and on the charity's profile page.

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-12
- Financials: last updated 2026-05-29
- Rating: computed 2026-09-12
- This document generated: 2026-09-15

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/southland-beneficiaries-and-community-rights-centre-incorporated
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/southland-beneficiaries-and-community-rights-centre-incorporated/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/southland-beneficiaries-and-community-rights-centre-incorporated/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC30728

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/southland-beneficiaries-and-community-rights-centre-incorporated. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-15T20:51:08.140Z.