# South Canterbury Hospice Incorporated

**Charities Register number:** CC23571
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2008-04-29
**Sector:** Health
**ICNPO group:** Health
**Region:** Timaru
**NZBN:** 9429042728047
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

South Canterbury Hospice offers a free specialised palliative care service to everyone in South Canterbury with a life limiting illness, and support for their family and whanau.

## CharityData rating

- **Grade:** C+ (67.4 / 100)
- **Financial health:** 64.2/100
- **Governance:** 75/100
- **Transparency:** 65/100
- **Computed:** 2026-09-26 (methodology 3.11)
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-06-30)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$3.37M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$3.25M
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$117k
- **Total assets:** NZ$1.21M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$376k
- **Net assets:** NZ$833k
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$365k
- **Government grants:** NZ$0 (0.0% of revenue)
- **Donations:** NZ$386k
- **Staff costs:** NZ$2.70M
- **Paid staff:** 39
- **Volunteers:** 7
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=7ba109e5-4a56-f011-bb44-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-06-30 | NZ$3.37M | NZ$3.25M | NZ$117k | NZ$833k |
| 2024-06-30 | NZ$3.97M | NZ$3.05M | NZ$916k | NZ$13.74M |
| 2023-06-30 | NZ$2.75M | NZ$2.70M | not disclosed | NZ$670k |
| 2022-06-30 | NZ$3.06M | NZ$2.56M | not disclosed | NZ$11.40M |
| 2021-06-30 | NZ$3.73M | NZ$2.26M | not disclosed | NZ$8.98M |
| 2020-06-30 | NZ$2.65M | NZ$2.01M | not disclosed | NZ$7.51M |
| 2019-06-30 | NZ$2.98M | NZ$2.00M | not disclosed | NZ$6.87M |
| 2018-06-30 | NZ$2.07M | NZ$1.77M | not disclosed | NZ$5.88M |
| 2017-06-30 | NZ$2.03M | NZ$1.64M | not disclosed | NZ$5.19M |
| 2016-06-30 | NZ$2.04M | NZ$1.60M | not disclosed | NZ$4.79M |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 8 current (20 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes
- **Auditor:** Martin Wakefield Audit Ltd
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC23571) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **Pub Charity Limited** (foundation) — NZ$1.10M, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Lion Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$15k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **New Zealand Community Trust** (foundation) — NZ$10k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **The Lion Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$10k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Aotearoa Gaming Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$4k, year ended 2021-12-31

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-25
- Financials: last updated 2026-05-29
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-28

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/south-canterbury-hospice-incorporated
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/south-canterbury-hospice-incorporated/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/south-canterbury-hospice-incorporated/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC23571

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/south-canterbury-hospice-incorporated. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-28T11:25:48.928Z.