# Save Animals From Exploitation Incorporated

**Charities Register number:** CC40428
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2008-06-30
**Sector:** Animal Welfare
**Region:** Auckland
**NZBN:** 9429042724353
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

To prevent the suffering, abuse and exploitation of animals.

## CharityData rating

- **Grade:** B (76.8 / 100)
- **Financial health:** 77.5/100
- **Governance:** 75/100
- **Transparency:** 65/100
- **Computed:** 2026-09-26 (methodology 3.11)
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-03-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$2.28M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$16k
- **Surplus / deficit:** not disclosed
- **Total assets:** NZ$4.05M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$388k
- **Net assets:** NZ$3.67M
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$4.05M
- **Donations:** NZ$2.28M
- **Paid staff:** 19
- **Volunteers:** 0

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-03-31 | NZ$2.28M | NZ$16k | not disclosed | NZ$3.67M |
| 2024-03-31 | NZ$2.17M | NZ$39k | not disclosed | NZ$3.33M |
| 2023-03-31 | NZ$2.21M | NZ$39k | not disclosed | NZ$2.92M |
| 2022-03-31 | NZ$2.07M | NZ$53k | not disclosed | NZ$498k |
| 2021-03-31 | NZ$1.74M | NZ$2.09M | not disclosed | NZ$7.20M |
| 2020-03-31 | NZ$2.00M | NZ$1.86M | not disclosed | NZ$7.50M |
| 2019-03-31 | NZ$2.83M | NZ$1.63M | not disclosed | NZ$1.46M |
| 2018-03-31 | NZ$6.06M | NZ$1.66M | not disclosed | NZ$5.74M |
| 2017-03-31 | NZ$1.43M | NZ$562k | not disclosed | NZ$1.26M |
| 2016-03-31 | NZ$1.34M | NZ$1.04M | not disclosed | NZ$1.23M |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 8 current (50 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes
- **Auditor:** Lynch & Associates Limited
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC40428) and on the charity's profile page.

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-23
- Financials: last updated 2026-05-29
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-27

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/save-animals-from-exploitation-incorporated
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/save-animals-from-exploitation-incorporated/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/save-animals-from-exploitation-incorporated/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC40428

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/save-animals-from-exploitation-incorporated. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-27T21:42:47.854Z.