# Ruth Nelson Taruna Charitable Trust

**Charities Register number:** CC37745
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2008-06-30
**Sector:** Education
**ICNPO group:** Education and Research
**Region:** Havelock North
**NZBN:** 9429042800279
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

The purpose of this Trust is to provide for the relief of poverty and Steiner education of the beneficiaries.

## CharityData rating

- **Grade:** B- (71.5 / 100)
- **Financial health:** 70/100
- **Governance:** 75/100
- **Transparency:** 65/100
- **Computed:** 2026-09-12 (methodology 3.8)
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2024-12-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$277k
- **Total expenses:** NZ$320k
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$-43k
- **Total assets:** NZ$1.38M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$22k
- **Net assets:** NZ$1.18M
- **Donations:** NZ$29k
- **Staff costs:** NZ$142k
- **Paid staff:** 5
- **Volunteers:** 0
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=ba309299-07c8-ef11-bb3d-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024-12-31 | NZ$277k | NZ$320k | NZ$-43k | NZ$1.18M |
| 2023-12-31 | NZ$443k | NZ$352k | NZ$91k | NZ$1.40M |
| 2022-12-31 | NZ$241k | NZ$281k | not disclosed | NZ$1.31M |
| 2021-12-31 | NZ$974k | NZ$734k | not disclosed | NZ$1.35M |
| 2020-12-31 | NZ$237k | NZ$215k | not disclosed | NZ$1.11M |
| 2019-12-31 | NZ$231k | NZ$242k | not disclosed | NZ$1.09M |
| 2018-12-31 | NZ$184k | NZ$283k | not disclosed | NZ$1.07M |
| 2017-12-31 | NZ$66k | NZ$15k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2016-12-31 | NZ$32k | NZ$17k | not disclosed | NZ$1.53M |
| 2015-12-31 | NZ$3k | NZ$20k | NZ$-17k | NZ$1.53M |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 5 current (15 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC37745) and on the charity's profile page.

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-01
- Financials: last updated 2026-05-29
- Rating: computed 2026-09-12
- This document generated: 2026-09-12

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/ruth-nelson-taruna-charitable-trust
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/ruth-nelson-taruna-charitable-trust/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/ruth-nelson-taruna-charitable-trust/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC37745

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/ruth-nelson-taruna-charitable-trust. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-12T11:01:57.077Z.