# Rural Youth and Adult Literacy Trust

**Charities Register number:** CC47324
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2011-08-10
**Sector:** Education
**ICNPO group:** Education and Research
**Region:** Tuakau
**NZBN:** 9429043150991
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

The Trust provides free reading and writing tuition, in particular literacy, computer-literacy, and numeracy, to adults and teenagers living in rural communities (or who are otherwise isolated) within New Zealand.

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — Reports under the Tier 3/4 regime with limited disclosure and no detected red flags.
- **Status code:** `limited_disclosure`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-12-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$263k
- **Total expenses:** NZ$301k
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$-37k
- **Total assets:** NZ$131k
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$20k
- **Net assets:** NZ$111k
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$126k
- **Donations:** NZ$12k
- **Staff costs:** NZ$255k
- **Paid staff:** 5
- **Reporting tier:** Tier3
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=d78678dc-d7e6-f011-bb4e-000d3acc4199&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-12-31 | NZ$263k | NZ$301k | NZ$-37k | NZ$111k |
| 2024-12-31 | NZ$309k | NZ$265k | NZ$44k | NZ$131k |
| 2023-12-31 | NZ$242k | NZ$237k | not disclosed | NZ$104k |
| 2022-12-31 | NZ$185k | NZ$213k | not disclosed | NZ$98k |
| 2021-12-31 | NZ$296k | NZ$253k | not disclosed | NZ$127k |
| 2020-12-31 | NZ$237k | NZ$220k | not disclosed | NZ$83k |
| 2019-12-31 | NZ$169k | NZ$163k | not disclosed | NZ$66k |
| 2018-12-31 | NZ$158k | NZ$156k | not disclosed | NZ$58k |
| 2017-12-31 | NZ$139k | NZ$115k | not disclosed | NZ$52k |
| 2016-12-31 | NZ$112k | NZ$119k | not disclosed | NZ$33k |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 6 current (12 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC47324) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$90k, year ended 2024-03-31
- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$22k, year ended 2026-03-31
- **Aotearoa Gaming Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$20k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$15k, year ended 2025-03-31
- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$15k, year ended 2021-03-31
- **Pub Charity Limited** (foundation) — NZ$14k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$12k, year ended 2019-03-31
- **Aotearoa Gaming Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$10k, year ended 2023-12-31
- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$10k, year ended 2020-03-31
- **Aotearoa Gaming Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$10k, year ended 2022-12-31

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-23
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-25
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-29

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/rural-youth-and-adult-literacy-trust
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/rural-youth-and-adult-literacy-trust/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/rural-youth-and-adult-literacy-trust/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC47324

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/rural-youth-and-adult-literacy-trust. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-29T18:59:46.181Z.