# Rotorua Community Hospice Trust

**Charities Register number:** CC21602
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2008-03-05
**Sector:** Religion
**ICNPO group:** Religion
**Region:** Rotorua
**NZBN:** 9429042816737
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

To Provide hope and dignity through exemplary care to patients and their families/whanau in partnership with fellow professionals. Hospice is a philosophy of care and our goal is to help people make the most of their lives. Hospice cares for the person, not just their physical needs but also their emotional, spiritual and social needs too. Irrespective of where they are, this philosophy care does not change and everything we do is free of charge. We believe that Hospice care should be available to anyone who needs it, helping people to make the most of every moment, in whatever way works for them.

## CharityData rating

- **Grade:** A- (89.5 / 100)
- **Financial health:** 100/100
- **Governance:** 65/100
- **Transparency:** 65/100
- **Computed:** 2026-09-26 (methodology 3.11)
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-06-30)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$4.50M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$3.33M
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$1.16M
- **Total assets:** NZ$6.57M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$444k
- **Net assets:** NZ$6.13M
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$899k
- **Government grants:** NZ$1.67M (37.2% of revenue)
- **Donations:** NZ$1.97M
- **Staff costs:** NZ$2.34M
- **Paid staff:** 27
- **Reporting tier:** Tier3
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=3489ee0a-4c56-f011-bb44-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-06-30 | NZ$4.50M | NZ$3.33M | NZ$1.16M | NZ$6.13M |
| 2024-06-30 | NZ$3.28M | NZ$3.06M | NZ$219k | NZ$32k |
| 2023-06-30 | NZ$3.01M | NZ$2.49M | not disclosed | NZ$4.71M |
| 2022-06-30 | NZ$2.49M | NZ$2.57M | not disclosed | NZ$4.13M |
| 2021-06-30 | NZ$2.58M | NZ$2.19M | not disclosed | NZ$4.28M |
| 2020-06-30 | NZ$2.88M | NZ$2.37M | not disclosed | NZ$3.90M |
| 2019-06-30 | NZ$2.56M | NZ$2.26M | not disclosed | NZ$3.43M |
| 2018-06-30 | NZ$2.44M | NZ$2.15M | not disclosed | NZ$3.13M |
| 2017-06-30 | NZ$3.36M | NZ$1.79M | not disclosed | NZ$2.83M |
| 2016-06-30 | NZ$2.18M | NZ$1.93M | not disclosed | NZ$1.25M |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 8 current (26 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** no
- **Auditor:** BDO Rotorua
- **Most recent audit opinion:** qualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC21602) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **New Zealand Community Trust** (foundation) — NZ$180k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Pub Charity Limited** (foundation) — NZ$90k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Four Winds Foundation Limited** (foundation) — NZ$50k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Aotearoa Gaming Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$50k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Lion Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$25k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Grassroots Trust Limited** (foundation) — NZ$23k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **One Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$14k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **The Lion Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$10k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Grassroots Trust Central Limited** (foundation) — NZ$9k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **We Care Community Trust** (foundation) — NZ$5k, year ended 2021-12-31

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-25
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-25
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-28

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/rotorua-community-hospice-trust
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/rotorua-community-hospice-trust/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/rotorua-community-hospice-trust/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC21602

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/rotorua-community-hospice-trust. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-28T13:52:46.281Z.