# River of Life - People's Charitable Trust

**Charities Register number:** CC36804
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2008-06-30
**Sector:** Social Services
**ICNPO group:** Social Services
**Region:** Waitara
**NZBN:** 9429043047352
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

Provides religious services and community support for the town of Waitara.

## CharityData rating

- **Grade:** B- (73.3 / 100)
- **Financial health:** 72.5/100
- **Governance:** 75/100
- **Transparency:** 65/100
- **Computed:** 2026-09-12 (methodology 3.8)
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2026-03-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$211k
- **Total expenses:** NZ$135k
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$76k
- **Total assets:** not disclosed
- **Total liabilities:** not disclosed
- **Net assets:** not disclosed
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$79k
- **Donations:** NZ$184k
- **Staff costs:** NZ$60k
- **Paid staff:** 2
- **Reporting tier:** Tier4

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-03-31 | NZ$211k | NZ$135k | NZ$76k | not disclosed |
| 2025-03-31 | NZ$170k | NZ$157k | NZ$12k | NZ$535k |
| 2024-03-31 | NZ$166k | NZ$164k | NZ$3k | NZ$190k |
| 2023-03-31 | NZ$173k | NZ$156k | not disclosed | NZ$374k |
| 2022-03-31 | NZ$169k | NZ$162k | not disclosed | NZ$358k |
| 2021-03-31 | NZ$137k | NZ$125k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2020-03-31 | NZ$116k | NZ$94k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2019-03-31 | NZ$124k | NZ$87k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2018-03-31 | NZ$118k | NZ$91k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2017-03-31 | NZ$130k | NZ$93k | not disclosed | not disclosed |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 7 current (26 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC36804) and on the charity's profile page.

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-12
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-11
- Rating: computed 2026-09-12
- This document generated: 2026-09-13

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/river-of-life-peoples-charitable-trust
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/river-of-life-peoples-charitable-trust/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/river-of-life-peoples-charitable-trust/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC36804
- Charity website: Teawa.org

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/river-of-life-peoples-charitable-trust. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-13T04:56:36.705Z.