# R T Shannon Memorial Trust

**Charities Register number:** CC44605
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2010-07-12
**Sector:** Education
**ICNPO group:** Education and Research
**Region:** Tauranga
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

To pay income to Auckland War Memorial Museum for the advancement of learning and knowledge in the field of entomology.

## CharityData rating

- **Grade:** B- (74.3 / 100)
- **Financial health:** 82.5/100
- **Governance:** 55/100
- **Transparency:** 65/100
- **Computed:** 2026-09-12 (methodology 3.8)
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-03-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$98k
- **Total expenses:** NZ$86k
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$13k
- **Total assets:** NZ$2.12M
- **Total liabilities:** not disclosed
- **Net assets:** NZ$2.12M
- **Staff costs:** NZ$0
- **Volunteers:** 0
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=cd9af6a4-c20e-f011-bb41-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-03-31 | NZ$98k | NZ$86k | NZ$13k | NZ$2.12M |
| 2024-03-31 | NZ$98k | NZ$84k | NZ$14k | NZ$2.14M |
| 2023-03-31 | NZ$90k | NZ$84k | not disclosed | NZ$2.08M |
| 2022-03-31 | NZ$170k | NZ$84k | not disclosed | NZ$2.13M |
| 2021-03-31 | NZ$90k | NZ$81k | not disclosed | NZ$2.06M |
| 2020-03-31 | NZ$83k | NZ$80k | not disclosed | NZ$1.77M |
| 2019-03-31 | NZ$80k | NZ$71k | not disclosed | NZ$1.81M |
| 2018-03-31 | NZ$93k | NZ$119k | not disclosed | NZ$1.66M |
| 2017-03-31 | NZ$76k | NZ$23k | not disclosed | NZ$1.65M |
| 2016-03-31 | NZ$77k | NZ$22k | NZ$55k | not disclosed |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 1 current (3 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** no

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC44605) and on the charity's profile page.

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-01
- Financials: last updated 2026-05-29
- Rating: computed 2026-09-12
- This document generated: 2026-09-13

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/r-t-shannon-memorial-trust
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/r-t-shannon-memorial-trust/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/r-t-shannon-memorial-trust/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC44605

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/r-t-shannon-memorial-trust. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-13T10:46:57.268Z.