# Queenstown Trails Trust

**Charities Register number:** CC29498
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2008-06-30
**Sector:** Arts & Culture
**ICNPO group:** Culture and Recreation
**Region:** Queenstown
**NZBN:** 9429043145348
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

Provides Walking, Cycling, Riding Tracks And Trails For The Community

## CharityData rating

- **Grade:** C (61.1 / 100)
- **Financial health:** 88/100
- **Governance:** 65/100
- **Transparency:** 65/100
- **Computed:** 2026-09-26 (methodology 3.11)
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** 1
  - programme spending below the methodology threshold

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-06-30)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$3.62M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$3.65M
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$-24k
- **Total assets:** NZ$1.40M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$296k
- **Net assets:** NZ$1.10M
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$1.26M
- **Donations:** NZ$608k
- **Staff costs:** NZ$323k
- **Paid staff:** 3
- **Volunteers:** 1
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=6240d530-4d56-f011-bb44-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-06-30 | NZ$3.62M | NZ$3.65M | NZ$-24k | NZ$1.10M |
| 2024-06-30 | NZ$4.88M | NZ$4.83M | NZ$50k | NZ$1.13M |
| 2023-06-30 | NZ$2.01M | NZ$1.88M | not disclosed | NZ$1.08M |
| 2022-06-30 | NZ$1.04M | NZ$715k | not disclosed | NZ$950k |
| 2021-06-30 | NZ$645k | NZ$699k | not disclosed | NZ$630k |
| 2020-06-30 | NZ$377k | NZ$421k | not disclosed | NZ$684k |
| 2019-06-30 | NZ$677k | NZ$729k | not disclosed | NZ$728k |
| 2018-06-30 | NZ$396k | NZ$425k | not disclosed | NZ$780k |
| 2017-06-30 | NZ$500k | NZ$559k | not disclosed | NZ$808k |
| 2016-06-30 | NZ$341k | NZ$374k | not disclosed | NZ$867k |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 11 current (36 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** no
- **Auditor:** KPMG
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC29498) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **New Zealand Community Trust** (foundation) — NZ$20k, year ended 2021-12-31

## Service providers

- KPMG — auditor

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-25
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-25
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-27

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/queenstown-trails-trust
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/queenstown-trails-trust/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/queenstown-trails-trust/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC29498

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/queenstown-trails-trust. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-27T23:53:28.831Z.