# Pukaha Mount Bruce Board

**Charities Register number:** CC20604
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2008-01-22
**Sector:** Health
**ICNPO group:** Health
**Region:** Masterton
**NZBN:** 9429043045297
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

The Pukaha Mount Bruce vision is to be recognised nationally and internationally as Aotearoa New Zealand's number one mainland, indigenous wildlife sanctuary.

## CharityData rating

- **Grade:** A (92.5 / 100)
- **Financial health:** 100/100
- **Governance:** 75/100
- **Transparency:** 65/100
- **Computed:** 2026-09-26 (methodology 3.11)
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-06-30)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$4.37M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$7.48M
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$-3.11M
- **Total assets:** NZ$8.72M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$3.52M
- **Net assets:** NZ$5.20M
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$8k
- **Government grants:** NZ$1.05M (24.0% of revenue)
- **Donations:** NZ$276k
- **Staff costs:** NZ$1.90M
- **Paid staff:** 23
- **Volunteers:** 0
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=319f0c5f-4c56-f011-bb44-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-06-30 | NZ$4.37M | NZ$7.48M | NZ$-3.11M | NZ$5.20M |
| 2024-06-30 | NZ$3.06M | NZ$3.50M | NZ$-441k | NZ$8.31M |
| 2023-06-30 | NZ$5.58M | NZ$2.99M | not disclosed | NZ$8.75M |
| 2022-06-30 | NZ$3.49M | NZ$2.68M | not disclosed | NZ$6.17M |
| 2021-06-30 | NZ$2.75M | NZ$2.43M | not disclosed | NZ$5.35M |
| 2020-06-30 | NZ$2.04M | NZ$2.05M | not disclosed | NZ$4.94M |
| 2019-06-30 | NZ$2.02M | NZ$2.07M | not disclosed | NZ$4.95M |
| 2018-06-30 | NZ$2.00M | NZ$1.91M | not disclosed | NZ$5.01M |
| 2017-06-30 | NZ$2.42M | NZ$1.80M | not disclosed | NZ$4.92M |
| 2016-06-30 | NZ$2.66M | NZ$1.73M | not disclosed | NZ$4.30M |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 7 current (37 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes
- **Auditor:** Audit Plus Accounting Services Limited
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC20604) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **Pub Charity Limited** (foundation) — NZ$1.12M, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Trust House Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$130k, year ended 2021-12-31

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-25
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-25
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-29

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/pukaha-mount-bruce-board
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/pukaha-mount-bruce-board/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/pukaha-mount-bruce-board/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC20604

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/pukaha-mount-bruce-board. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-29T17:24:31.344Z.