# Pioneer Energy Limited

**Charities Register number:** CC10910
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2007-08-22
**Sector:** Education
**ICNPO group:** Education and Research
**Region:** Alexandra
**NZBN:** 9429038759758
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

The Charitable Purpose is to provide a financial return to Central Lakes Trust. Central Lakes Trust: The Trust assists many community projects and services, but all must meet charitable criteria. For a purpose to be charitable, it must relate to one of the following four Heads of Charity: the relief of poverty, advancement of education, advancement of religion, or any other matter beneficial to the community. Also, all projects or services MUST provide a public benefit, and MUST NOT result in private financial gain.

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — This charity is not currently rated.
- **Status code:** `group_member`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2017-03-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$105.76M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$100.53M
- **Surplus / deficit:** not disclosed
- **Total assets:** NZ$226.07M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$158.02M
- **Net assets:** NZ$68.05M
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$3.25M
- **Paid staff:** 65
- **Volunteers:** 0
- **Financial report audited:** yes
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=4b97cb1a-8c9d-e711-aae0-00155d6b7730&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2017-03-31 | NZ$105.76M | NZ$100.53M | not disclosed | NZ$68.05M |
| 2016-03-31 | NZ$83.43M | NZ$77.71M | not disclosed | NZ$68.69M |
| 2015-03-31 | NZ$69.69M | NZ$58.03M | NZ$12k | NZ$72.24M |
| 2014-03-31 | NZ$51.87M | NZ$46.57M | NZ$5.30M | NZ$69.86M |
| 2013-03-31 | NZ$28.58M | NZ$22.63M | NZ$5.95M | NZ$33.26M |
| 2012-03-30 | NZ$17.65M | NZ$9.73M | NZ$7.92M | NZ$28.02M |
| 2011-03-31 | NZ$12.62M | NZ$8.99M | NZ$3.63M | NZ$24.90M |
| 2010-03-31 | NZ$10.84M | NZ$7.89M | NZ$2.95M | NZ$24.94M |
| 2009-03-31 | NZ$13.26M | NZ$6.59M | NZ$6.68M | NZ$26.35M |
| 2008-03-31 | NZ$10.43M | NZ$7.13M | NZ$3.29M | NZ$24.25M |

## Group consolidated filing

This charity is part of **Central Lakes Trust Group**, which files a consolidated return. For the year ended 2026-03-31 the group reported revenue of NZ$337.43M and expenses of NZ$353.66M.

Where a member files an empty individual return, the group figures are where the activity sits.

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 4 current (16 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** no
- **Auditor:** Deloitte Limited
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC10910) and on the charity's profile page.

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-23
- Financials: last updated 2026-04-25
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-29

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/pioneer-energy-limited
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/pioneer-energy-limited/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/pioneer-energy-limited/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC10910

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/pioneer-energy-limited. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-29T21:11:07.755Z.