# Penina Trust

**Charities Register number:** CC27145
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2008-06-30
**Sector:** Health
**ICNPO group:** Health
**Region:** Auckland
**NZBN:** 9429043118731
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

Vision “Holistic wellbeing for people in our community” Mission “To provide quality support that enhances holistic wellness for Pasifika people in our community” Philosophy of Care Penina’s Philosophy of Care is: “Penina Trust is committed to the principle of recovery. We exist to support people on their journey through illness and towards recovery. Recovery for Penina is about utilising cultural capital to enable people to take control of their own lives with a view to achieving their full potential, including living in safe, healthy and adequately sized housing. Penina will support people towards recovery through the delivery of timely, appropriate and safe services delivered by professional, clinically and/or culturally competent staff whilst respecting the dignity and mana/mamalu of all those that they serve.”

## CharityData rating

- **Grade:** A (92.5 / 100)
- **Financial health:** 100/100
- **Governance:** 75/100
- **Transparency:** 85/100
- **Computed:** 2026-09-26 (methodology 3.11)
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-06-30)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$20.95M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$17.92M
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$3.03M
- **Total assets:** NZ$53.56M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$26.64M
- **Net assets:** NZ$26.93M
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$6.00M
- **Government grants:** NZ$1.18M (5.6% of revenue)
- **Staff costs:** NZ$5.92M
- **Paid staff:** 82
- **Volunteers:** 0
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=2285edfa-4c56-f011-bb44-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-06-30 | NZ$20.95M | NZ$17.92M | NZ$3.03M | NZ$26.93M |
| 2024-06-30 | NZ$26.50M | NZ$16.55M | NZ$9.95M | NZ$23.90M |
| 2023-06-30 | NZ$17.52M | NZ$13.75M | not disclosed | NZ$13.95M |
| 2022-06-30 | NZ$14.76M | NZ$9.83M | not disclosed | NZ$10.18M |
| 2021-06-30 | NZ$8.88M | NZ$7.01M | not disclosed | NZ$5.24M |
| 2020-06-30 | NZ$4.27M | NZ$4.00M | not disclosed | NZ$3.38M |
| 2019-06-30 | NZ$3.89M | NZ$3.50M | not disclosed | NZ$3.11M |
| 2018-06-30 | NZ$3.48M | NZ$3.29M | not disclosed | NZ$2.73M |
| 2017-06-30 | NZ$2.01M | NZ$1.85M | not disclosed | NZ$2.54M |
| 2016-06-30 | NZ$1.78M | NZ$1.66M | not disclosed | NZ$2.37M |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 6 current (12 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes
- **Paid executives disclosed:** 13
- **Executive remuneration bands:** NZ$500k+, NZ$300k–500k, under NZ$100k, NZ$150k–200k
- **Auditor:** McMillan Woods NZ
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC27145) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **Ministry of Social Development** (government) — NZ$588k, year ended 2025-06-30
- **Ministry for Pacific Peoples** (government) — NZ$588k, year ended 2025-06-30
- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$285k, year ended 2020-03-31
- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$100k, year ended 2026-03-31
- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$35k, year ended 2027-03-31
- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$30k, year ended 2023-03-31
- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$25k, year ended 2019-03-31
- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$25k, year ended 2022-03-31
- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$25k, year ended 2021-03-31
- **Rano Community Trust** (foundation) — NZ$6k, year ended 2021-12-31

## Service providers

- McMillan Woods NZ — auditor

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-24
- Financials: last updated 2026-05-29
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-27

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/penina-trust
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/penina-trust/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/penina-trust/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC27145
- Charity website: https://www.penina.org.nz

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/penina-trust. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-27T17:01:11.590Z.