# Paterson Street Playcentre

**Charities Register number:** CC38450
**Status:** Deregistered (2025-06-09)
**Registered since:** 2008-06-30
**Sector:** Education
**ICNPO group:** Education and Research
**Region:** Hamilton

## Purpose

Paterson Street Playcentre is a family/whanau led, licensed early childhood centre. We are a co-operative community-based centre in Hamilton where play and learning are valued for children and their whanau. Playcentre is a family organization where: * we empower adults and children to play, work, learn and grow together * we honour Te Tiriti o Waitangi and celebrate people's uniqueness * we value and affirm parents as the first and best educators of their children so that whanau are strengthened and communities enriched.

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — No longer on the Charities Register.
- **Status code:** `deregistered`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2016-08-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$29k
- **Total expenses:** NZ$26k
- **Surplus / deficit:** not disclosed
- **Total assets:** NZ$11k
- **Total liabilities:** not disclosed
- **Net assets:** not disclosed
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$11k
- **Donations:** NZ$1k
- **Volunteers:** 10
- **Financial report audited:** yes
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=5f880c08-46f9-e611-8178-00155de3e60a&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2016-08-31 | NZ$29k | NZ$26k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2015-08-31 | NZ$41k | NZ$34k | NZ$7k | not disclosed |
| 2014-08-31 | NZ$29k | NZ$30k | NZ$-2k | not disclosed |
| 2013-08-31 | NZ$25k | NZ$25k | NZ$898 | not disclosed |
| 2012-08-31 | NZ$30k | NZ$29k | NZ$70 | not disclosed |
| 2011-08-31 | NZ$29k | NZ$34k | NZ$-5k | not disclosed |
| 2010-08-31 | NZ$33k | NZ$45k | NZ$-12k | NZ$7k |
| 2009-08-31 | NZ$47k | not disclosed | NZ$47k | not disclosed |

## Group consolidated filing

This charity is part of **Playcentre Aotearoa**, which files a consolidated return. For the year ended 2025-08-31 the group reported revenue of NZ$27.60M and expenses of NZ$38.05M.

Where a member files an empty individual return, the group figures are where the activity sits.

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 3 current (30 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC38450) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **The Lion Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$5k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Grassroots Trust Limited** (foundation) — NZ$5k, year ended 2021-12-31

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-25
- Financials: last updated 2026-04-25
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-29

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/paterson-street-playcentre
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/paterson-street-playcentre/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/paterson-street-playcentre/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC38450

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/paterson-street-playcentre. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-29T01:18:35.266Z.