# Papatuanuku Kokiri Marae

**Charities Register number:** CC56559
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2019-01-16
**Sector:** Health
**ICNPO group:** Health
**Region:** Auckland
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

To establish and run a Kokiri Marae with an emphasis on teaching Gardening and waste minimisation. To run other training courses including Te Reo and Tikanga. To enhance the wellbeing of Kaumatua and Kuia

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — The charity type has not been classified yet, so no scoring template applies and the grade is withheld.
- **Status code:** `unclassified`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-03-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$1.38M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$1.26M
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$112k
- **Total assets:** NZ$1.08M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$24k
- **Net assets:** NZ$1.06M
- **Government grants:** NZ$17k (1.2% of revenue)
- **Donations:** NZ$59k
- **Staff costs:** NZ$763k
- **Paid staff:** 17
- **Volunteers:** 0
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=0cbb3b30-c10e-f011-bb41-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-03-31 | NZ$1.38M | NZ$1.26M | NZ$112k | NZ$1.06M |
| 2024-03-31 | NZ$1.04M | NZ$1.06M | NZ$-29k | NZ$947k |
| 2023-03-31 | NZ$801k | NZ$924k | not disclosed | NZ$980k |
| 2022-03-31 | NZ$1.45M | NZ$749k | not disclosed | NZ$1.10M |
| 2021-03-31 | NZ$394k | NZ$247k | not disclosed | NZ$404k |
| 2020-03-31 | NZ$148k | NZ$181k | not disclosed | NZ$257k |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 8 current (14 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes
- **Auditor:** Audit Integrity
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC56559) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$330k, year ended 2024-06-30
- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$54k, year ended 2022-06-30
- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$10k, year ended 2023-06-30

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-12
- Financials: last updated 2026-05-29
- Rating: computed 2026-09-12
- This document generated: 2026-09-13

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/papatuanuku-kokiri-marae
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/papatuanuku-kokiri-marae/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/papatuanuku-kokiri-marae/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC56559

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/papatuanuku-kokiri-marae. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-13T11:07:36.178Z.