# Otago Kiwi Recovery Charitable Trust

**Charities Register number:** CC50308
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2014-03-06
**Sector:** Health
**ICNPO group:** Health
**Region:** Wanaka
**NZBN:** 9429043257416
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

To reduce predator levels in the East Matukituki which will allow for the eventual release of kiwi into the Mt Aspiring National Park

## CharityData rating

- **Grade:** B- (70.8 / 100)
- **Financial health:** 77.5/100
- **Governance:** 55/100
- **Transparency:** 65/100
- **Computed:** 2026-09-12 (methodology 3.8)
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2024-12-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$1k
- **Total expenses:** NZ$243
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$1k
- **Total assets:** not disclosed
- **Total liabilities:** not disclosed
- **Net assets:** not disclosed
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$16k
- **Staff costs:** NZ$0
- **Volunteers:** 0
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=35d14fff-05c8-ef11-bb3d-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024-12-31 | NZ$1k | NZ$243 | NZ$1k | not disclosed |
| 2023-12-31 | NZ$359 | NZ$289 | NZ$70 | not disclosed |
| 2022-12-31 | NZ$99 | NZ$1k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2021-12-31 | NZ$8 | NZ$2k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2020-12-31 | NZ$10 | NZ$6k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2019-12-31 | NZ$3k | NZ$1k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2018-12-31 | NZ$16 | NZ$2k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2017-12-31 | NZ$28 | NZ$4k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2016-12-31 | NZ$12k | NZ$9k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2015-12-31 | NZ$28k | NZ$12k | not disclosed | NZ$100 |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 2 current (3 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** no

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC50308) and on the charity's profile page.

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-01
- Financials: last updated 2026-05-29
- Rating: computed 2026-09-12
- This document generated: 2026-09-13

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/otago-kiwi-recovery-charitable-trust
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/otago-kiwi-recovery-charitable-trust/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/otago-kiwi-recovery-charitable-trust/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC50308

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/otago-kiwi-recovery-charitable-trust. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-13T11:27:59.737Z.