# Observatory Village Lifecare Limited

**Charities Register number:** CC52559
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2015-11-04
**Sector:** Arts & Culture
**Region:** Oamaru
**NZBN:** 9429042015895
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

Retirement Village and Care Facility Operation

## CharityData rating

- **Grade:** A- (86.5 / 100)
- **Financial health:** 100/100
- **Governance:** 55/100
- **Transparency:** 65/100
- **Computed:** 2026-09-26 (methodology 3.11)
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-06-30)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$2.96M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$2.49M
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$463k
- **Total assets:** NZ$74.59M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$56.87M
- **Net assets:** NZ$17.73M
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$256k
- **Government grants:** NZ$0 (0.0% of revenue)
- **Donations:** NZ$350k
- **Staff costs:** NZ$0
- **Paid staff:** 3
- **Volunteers:** 0
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=0edab657-4956-f011-bb44-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-06-30 | NZ$2.96M | NZ$2.49M | NZ$463k | NZ$17.73M |
| 2024-06-30 | NZ$3.02M | NZ$2.30M | NZ$716k | NZ$16.63M |
| 2023-06-30 | NZ$2.56M | NZ$2.11M | not disclosed | NZ$14.83M |
| 2022-06-30 | NZ$2.25M | NZ$1.59M | not disclosed | NZ$12.65M |
| 2021-06-30 | NZ$2.53M | NZ$1.35M | not disclosed | NZ$10.63M |
| 2020-06-30 | NZ$1.90M | NZ$1.18M | not disclosed | NZ$4.07M |
| 2019-06-30 | NZ$1.30M | NZ$1.01M | not disclosed | NZ$1.98M |
| 2018-06-30 | NZ$656k | NZ$743k | not disclosed | NZ$-1.55M |
| 2017-06-30 | not disclosed | NZ$228k | not disclosed | NZ$-314k |
| 2016-06-30 | not disclosed | NZ$86k | not disclosed | NZ$-595k |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 4 current (7 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** no
- **Auditor:** Grant Thornton
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC52559) and on the charity's profile page.

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-23
- Financials: last updated 2026-05-29
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-29

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/observatory-village-lifecare-limited
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/observatory-village-lifecare-limited/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/observatory-village-lifecare-limited/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC52559
- Charity website: https://www.observatoryvillage.nz

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/observatory-village-lifecare-limited. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-29T14:32:43.884Z.