# Oakura Playcentre

**Charities Register number:** CC40073
**Status:** Deregistered (2025-11-27)
**Registered since:** 2008-06-30
**Sector:** Education
**ICNPO group:** Education and Research
**Region:** Oakura

## Purpose

Oakura Playcentre is a whānau-led, licensed early childhood centre. Our philosophy and practice are based on "Whānau Tupu Ngātahi - Families Growing Together". Oakura Playcentre: * provides quality early childhood educational sessions for young children (birth to school age) through child-led play and supported by high child to adult ratios, * empowers adults and children to play, work, learn and grow together, * honours Te Tiriti o Waitangi and celebrate people's uniqueness, * values and affirms parents as the first and best educators of their children so that whānau are strengthened and communities enriched. * supports parents to participate in the Playcentre Education Programme, which supports both parent's and children's learning and growth. We are a co-operative community based centre, in a small rural area. Parents decide how the centre will run and also make decisions giving direction to how Playcentre Aoteroa (the national body) will run.

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — No longer on the Charities Register.
- **Status code:** `deregistered`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2017-08-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$58k
- **Total expenses:** NZ$61k
- **Surplus / deficit:** not disclosed
- **Total assets:** NZ$18k
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$968
- **Net assets:** NZ$17k
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$6k
- **Donations:** NZ$2k
- **Volunteers:** 32
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=b823fed5-e9f4-e711-9ac3-00155d6b7730&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2017-08-31 | NZ$58k | NZ$61k | not disclosed | NZ$17k |
| 2016-08-31 | NZ$54k | NZ$55k | not disclosed | NZ$17k |
| 2015-08-31 | NZ$74k | NZ$68k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2014-08-31 | NZ$44k | NZ$50k | NZ$-5k | NZ$25k |
| 2013-08-31 | NZ$51k | NZ$48k | NZ$4k | NZ$29k |
| 2012-08-31 | NZ$48k | NZ$48k | NZ$-301 | NZ$22k |
| 2011-08-31 | NZ$50k | NZ$43k | NZ$8k | NZ$16k |
| 2010-08-31 | NZ$39k | NZ$39k | NZ$-80 | NZ$20k |
| 2009-08-31 | NZ$41k | NZ$39k | NZ$2k | NZ$10k |

## Group consolidated filing

This charity is part of **Playcentre Aotearoa**, which files a consolidated return. For the year ended 2025-08-31 the group reported revenue of NZ$27.60M and expenses of NZ$38.05M.

Where a member files an empty individual return, the group figures are where the activity sits.

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 5 current (28 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC40073) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **Pelorus Trust** (foundation) — NZ$30k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **New Zealand Community Trust** (foundation) — NZ$21k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Aotearoa Gaming Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$10k, year ended 2021-12-31

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-25
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-24
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-29

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/oakura-playcentre
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/oakura-playcentre/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/oakura-playcentre/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC40073

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/oakura-playcentre. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-29T09:49:45.164Z.