# NZ Family And Foster Care Federation Incorporated

**Charities Register number:** CC25139
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2008-06-02
**Sector:** Education
**ICNPO group:** Education and Research
**Region:** Lower Hutt
**NZBN:** 9429042798057
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

Caring Families Aotearoa is the voice of caregivers across the motu (country). In 1974 the first Foster Care Associations were founded and then in 1976 the inaugural meeting of the NZ Foster Care Federation was held in Wellington forming the NZ Foster Care Federation to represent the voice of foster parents at a national level. Caring Families Aotearoa is here to support families who open their homes and hearts to tamariki (children) and rangatahi (young people) in need of care and protection. This includes foster caregivers, whānau caregivers, grandparents raising grandchildren, respite caregivers and permanent (home for life) caregivers. We provide training, encouragement, advocacy, information and support to caregiver families, throughout New Zealand, so that the placement has the best possible chance of success. We also strive to inform, influence and persuade policy-makers to improve public understanding of foster care.

## CharityData rating

- **Grade:** B+ (80.2 / 100)
- **Financial health:** 82.4/100
- **Governance:** 75/100
- **Transparency:** 65/100
- **Computed:** 2026-09-26 (methodology 3.11)
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-06-30)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$3.03M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$2.93M
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$94k
- **Total assets:** NZ$1.40M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$199k
- **Net assets:** NZ$1.20M
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$643k
- **Government grants:** NZ$968k (32.0% of revenue)
- **Donations:** NZ$1.95M
- **Staff costs:** NZ$1.59M
- **Paid staff:** 22
- **Volunteers:** 1
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=1ad2f834-4c56-f011-bb44-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-06-30 | NZ$3.03M | NZ$2.93M | NZ$94k | NZ$1.20M |
| 2024-06-30 | NZ$3.12M | NZ$3.49M | NZ$-364k | NZ$1.11M |
| 2023-06-30 | NZ$3.46M | NZ$3.68M | not disclosed | NZ$1.47M |
| 2022-06-30 | NZ$3.50M | NZ$3.21M | not disclosed | NZ$1.70M |
| 2021-06-30 | NZ$3.37M | NZ$3.23M | not disclosed | NZ$1.27M |
| 2020-06-30 | NZ$3.20M | NZ$3.11M | not disclosed | NZ$1.27M |
| 2019-06-30 | NZ$3.29M | NZ$2.97M | not disclosed | NZ$1.18M |
| 2018-06-30 | NZ$2.81M | NZ$2.73M | not disclosed | NZ$865k |
| 2017-06-30 | NZ$2.77M | NZ$2.90M | not disclosed | NZ$787k |
| 2016-06-30 | NZ$2.77M | NZ$2.67M | not disclosed | NZ$916k |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 8 current (36 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes
- **Auditor:** Kendons Chartered Accountants Limited
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC25139) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$120k, year ended 2024-03-31
- **Aotearoa Gaming Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$103k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$60k, year ended 2020-03-31
- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$50k, year ended 2019-03-31
- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$45k, year ended 2023-03-31
- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$40k, year ended 2022-03-31
- **Pub Charity Limited** (foundation) — NZ$37k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$30k, year ended 2021-03-31
- **Blue Sky Community Trust** (foundation) — NZ$6k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Four Winds Foundation Limited** (foundation) — NZ$5k, year ended 2021-12-31

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-25
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-25
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-29

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/nz-family-and-foster-care-federation-incorporated
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/nz-family-and-foster-care-federation-incorporated/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/nz-family-and-foster-care-federation-incorporated/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC25139

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/nz-family-and-foster-care-federation-incorporated. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-29T18:25:32.414Z.