# Nursing Council of New Zealand

**Charities Register number:** CC37186
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2008-06-30
**Sector:** Health
**ICNPO group:** Health
**Region:** Wellington
**NZBN:** 9429041912041
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

Protect the Health and Safety of members of the public by providing mechanisms to ensure that Nurses are competent and fit to practice their profession.

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — The scorecard does not measure what this type of entity does.
- **Status code:** `not_applicable`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-03-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$19.86M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$16.28M
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$3.58M
- **Total assets:** NZ$17.82M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$3.98M
- **Net assets:** NZ$13.84M
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$2.98M
- **Government grants:** NZ$0 (0.0% of revenue)
- **Staff costs:** NZ$8.91M
- **Paid staff:** 78
- **Volunteers:** 0
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=a3142f3c-c50e-f011-bb41-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-03-31 | NZ$19.86M | NZ$16.28M | NZ$3.58M | NZ$13.84M |
| 2024-03-31 | NZ$17.99M | NZ$16.46M | NZ$1.53M | NZ$10.27M |
| 2023-03-31 | NZ$13.76M | NZ$11.40M | not disclosed | NZ$8.74M |
| 2022-03-31 | NZ$9.43M | NZ$9.18M | not disclosed | NZ$6.38M |
| 2021-03-31 | NZ$8.63M | NZ$8.76M | not disclosed | NZ$6.73M |
| 2020-03-31 | NZ$8.67M | NZ$9.08M | not disclosed | NZ$6.85M |
| 2019-03-31 | NZ$8.93M | NZ$9.61M | not disclosed | NZ$7.26M |
| 2018-03-31 | NZ$8.32M | NZ$8.31M | not disclosed | NZ$7.94M |
| 2017-03-31 | NZ$8.32M | NZ$6.92M | not disclosed | NZ$7.92M |
| 2016-03-31 | NZ$7.48M | NZ$6.46M | not disclosed | NZ$6.51M |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 19 current (69 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** no
- **Auditor:** BakerTilly Staples Rodway
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC37186) and on the charity's profile page.

## Service providers

- Baker Tilly Staples Rodway — auditor

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-10-01
- Financials: last updated 2026-05-29
- Rating: computed 2026-10-01
- This document generated: 2026-10-03

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/nursing-council-of-new-zealand
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/nursing-council-of-new-zealand/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/nursing-council-of-new-zealand/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC37186

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/nursing-council-of-new-zealand. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-10-03T16:15:10.636Z.