# Nga Whaea Atawhai O Aotearoa Sisters Of Mercy New Zealand Trust

**Charities Register number:** CC27850
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2008-06-30
**Sector:** Religion
**ICNPO group:** Religion
**Region:** Auckland
**NZBN:** 9429043054312
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

The purpose of the Trust is to provide upkeep and housing for members of the congregation of the Nga Whaea Atawahai o Aotearoa Sisters of Mercy New Zealand within New Zealand, a religious congregation of vowed women in Auckland, Wellington, Christchurch and Dunedin.

## CharityData rating

- **Grade:** F (15.0 / 100)
- **Financial health:** 18.5/100
- **Governance:** 55/100
- **Transparency:** 65/100
- **Computed:** 2026-09-10 (methodology 3.6)
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** 1
  - trustees holding many concurrent board roles

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-03-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$7.75M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$7.75M
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$0
- **Total assets:** NZ$1.38M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$125k
- **Net assets:** NZ$1.26M
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$462k
- **Government grants:** NZ$0 (0.0% of revenue)
- **Donations:** NZ$7.33M
- **Staff costs:** NZ$0
- **Paid staff:** 3
- **Volunteers:** 0
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=d178448d-c60e-f011-bb41-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-03-31 | NZ$7.75M | NZ$7.75M | NZ$0 | NZ$1.26M |
| 2024-03-31 | NZ$7.52M | NZ$7.52M | NZ$0 | NZ$1.26M |
| 2023-03-31 | NZ$7.65M | NZ$7.65M | not disclosed | NZ$1.26M |
| 2022-03-31 | NZ$6.98M | NZ$6.98M | not disclosed | NZ$1.26M |
| 2021-03-31 | NZ$6.97M | NZ$6.97M | not disclosed | NZ$1.26M |
| 2020-03-31 | NZ$8.80M | NZ$8.80M | not disclosed | NZ$1.26M |
| 2019-03-31 | NZ$7.93M | NZ$7.94M | not disclosed | NZ$1.26M |
| 2018-03-31 | NZ$7.94M | NZ$7.67M | not disclosed | NZ$1.27M |
| 2017-03-31 | NZ$7.45M | NZ$7.45M | not disclosed | NZ$998k |
| 2016-03-31 | NZ$7.58M | NZ$7.58M | not disclosed | NZ$998k |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 8 current (38 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** no
- **Paid executives disclosed:** 2
- **Auditor:** KPMG
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC27850) and on the charity's profile page.

## Service providers

- KPMG — auditor

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-01
- Financials: last updated 2026-05-29
- Rating: computed 2026-09-10
- This document generated: 2026-09-11

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/nga-whaea-atawhai-o-aotearoa-sisters-of-mercy-new-zealand-trust
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/nga-whaea-atawhai-o-aotearoa-sisters-of-mercy-new-zealand-trust/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/nga-whaea-atawhai-o-aotearoa-sisters-of-mercy-new-zealand-trust/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC27850

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/nga-whaea-atawhai-o-aotearoa-sisters-of-mercy-new-zealand-trust. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-11T08:26:50.746Z.