# NewsLeads Charitable Trust

**Charities Register number:** CC51294
**Status:** Deregistered (2019-05-31)
**Registered since:** 2014-12-10
**Sector:** Religion
**ICNPO group:** Religion
**Region:** Hamilton
**NZBN:** 9429043286249

## Purpose

(a) To provide pastoral care and chaplaincy services to people within New Zealand’s media. (b) To recommend and provide commentary from a range of Christian perspectives to New Zealand media in the interests of public education, the relief of poverty, social inequality and injustice and offering an informed approach to social issues.

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — No longer on the Charities Register.
- **Status code:** `deregistered`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2019-03-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$15k
- **Total expenses:** NZ$18k
- **Surplus / deficit:** not disclosed
- **Total assets:** NZ$8k
- **Total liabilities:** not disclosed
- **Net assets:** not disclosed
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$8k
- **Donations:** NZ$11k
- **Paid staff:** 1
- **Volunteers:** 0
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=353ec801-4454-e911-953a-00155d6b7730&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2019-03-31 | NZ$15k | NZ$18k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2018-03-31 | NZ$44k | NZ$43k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2017-03-31 | NZ$51k | NZ$47k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2016-03-31 | NZ$40k | NZ$45k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2015-03-31 | NZ$13k | NZ$2k | NZ$11k | NZ$11k |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 5 current (7 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** no

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC51294) and on the charity's profile page.

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-01
- Financials: last updated 2026-04-25
- Rating: computed 2026-09-11
- This document generated: 2026-09-11

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/newsleads-charitable-trust
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/newsleads-charitable-trust/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/newsleads-charitable-trust/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC51294

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/newsleads-charitable-trust. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-11T16:07:16.905Z.