# New Zealand Water Polo Association Incorporated

**Charities Register number:** CC47013
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2010-12-14
**Sector:** Arts & Culture
**ICNPO group:** Culture and Recreation
**Region:** Auckland
**NZBN:** 9429042690924
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

To organise and manage water polo in NZ with the purpose of making the sport available to all with water confidence and safety an integral part of this.

## CharityData rating

- **Grade:** B (77.8 / 100)
- **Financial health:** 83.3/100
- **Governance:** 65/100
- **Transparency:** 65/100
- **Computed:** 2026-09-26 (methodology 3.11)
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-12-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$3.49M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$3.47M
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$22k
- **Total assets:** NZ$811k
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$210k
- **Net assets:** NZ$602k
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$735k
- **Government grants:** NZ$451k (12.9% of revenue)
- **Donations:** NZ$0
- **Staff costs:** NZ$746k
- **Paid staff:** 8
- **Reporting tier:** Tier2
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=0b5576e2-d7e6-f011-bb4e-000d3acc4199&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-12-31 | NZ$3.49M | NZ$3.47M | NZ$22k | NZ$602k |
| 2024-12-31 | NZ$3.02M | NZ$2.90M | NZ$119k | NZ$580k |
| 2023-12-31 | NZ$2.75M | NZ$2.71M | NZ$42k | NZ$461k |
| 2022-12-31 | NZ$1.97M | NZ$1.83M | not disclosed | NZ$418k |
| 2021-12-31 | NZ$1.21M | NZ$1.29M | not disclosed | NZ$277k |
| 2020-12-31 | NZ$1.33M | NZ$1.52M | not disclosed | NZ$351k |
| 2019-12-31 | NZ$2.71M | NZ$2.65M | not disclosed | NZ$539k |
| 2018-12-31 | NZ$3.54M | NZ$3.36M | not disclosed | NZ$485k |
| 2017-12-31 | NZ$2.49M | NZ$2.49M | not disclosed | NZ$312k |
| 2016-12-31 | NZ$3.20M | NZ$3.26M | not disclosed | NZ$363k |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 5 current (31 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** no
- **Auditor:** Nexia New Zealand
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC47013) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **Pub Charity Limited** (foundation) — NZ$132k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Four Winds Foundation Limited** (foundation) — NZ$105k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **New Zealand Community Trust** (foundation) — NZ$78k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **New Zealand Community Trust** (foundation) — NZ$70k, year ended 2022-12-31
- **New Zealand Community Trust** (foundation) — NZ$63k, year ended 2023-12-31
- **Grassroots Trust Limited** (foundation) — NZ$30k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Trillian Trust** (foundation) — NZ$20k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **The North and South Trust Limited** (foundation) — NZ$20k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Pelorus Trust** (foundation) — NZ$15k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Pelorus Trust** (foundation) — NZ$14k, year ended 2024-12-31

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-25
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-13
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-28

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/new-zealand-water-polo-association-incorporated
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/new-zealand-water-polo-association-incorporated/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/new-zealand-water-polo-association-incorporated/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC47013

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/new-zealand-water-polo-association-incorporated. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-28T17:01:38.785Z.