# New Zealand Association of General Surgeons Incorporated

**Charities Register number:** CC32206
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2008-06-30
**Sector:** Other
**Region:** Wellington
**NZBN:** 9429042678816
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

To promote, train future surgeons, and represent the practice of General Surgery and associated specialties in New Zealand

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — The charity type has not been classified yet, so no scoring template applies and the grade is withheld.
- **Status code:** `unclassified`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-11-30)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$1.19M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$1.15M
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$39k
- **Total assets:** NZ$2.38M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$155k
- **Net assets:** NZ$2.23M
- **Donations:** NZ$0
- **Staff costs:** NZ$460k
- **Paid staff:** 4
- **Reporting tier:** Tier3

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-11-30 | NZ$1.19M | NZ$1.15M | NZ$39k | NZ$2.23M |
| 2024-11-30 | NZ$1.25M | NZ$946k | NZ$309k | NZ$105k |
| 2023-11-30 | NZ$993k | NZ$844k | NZ$149k | NZ$1.88M |
| 2022-11-30 | NZ$737k | NZ$642k | not disclosed | NZ$1.74M |
| 2021-11-30 | NZ$678k | NZ$565k | not disclosed | NZ$1.65M |
| 2020-11-30 | NZ$488k | NZ$434k | not disclosed | NZ$1.54M |
| 2019-11-30 | NZ$668k | NZ$579k | not disclosed | NZ$1.47M |
| 2018-11-30 | NZ$577k | NZ$538k | not disclosed | NZ$1.39M |
| 2017-11-30 | NZ$636k | NZ$546k | not disclosed | NZ$1.35M |
| 2016-11-30 | NZ$558k | NZ$525k | not disclosed | NZ$1.26M |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 15 current (44 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes
- **Auditor:** VBW Chartered Accountants
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC32206) and on the charity's profile page.

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-12
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-11
- Rating: computed 2026-09-12
- This document generated: 2026-09-13

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/new-zealand-association-of-general-surgeons-incorporated
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/new-zealand-association-of-general-surgeons-incorporated/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/new-zealand-association-of-general-surgeons-incorporated/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC32206
- Charity website: http://www.nzags.co.nz

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/new-zealand-association-of-general-surgeons-incorporated. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-13T04:57:23.937Z.