# Neurological Foundation of New Zealand

**Charities Register number:** CC10341
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2007-05-24
**Sector:** Health
**ICNPO group:** Health
**Region:** Auckland
**NZBN:** 9429042708650
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

"To alleviate suffering from diseases and disorders of the brain and nervous system through research and education".

## CharityData rating

- **Grade:** A- (88.3 / 100)
- **Financial health:** 94/100
- **Governance:** 75/100
- **Transparency:** 85/100
- **Computed:** 2026-10-01 (methodology 3.11)
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-03-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$15.65M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$9.53M
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$6.11M
- **Total assets:** NZ$96.46M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$12.83M
- **Net assets:** NZ$83.62M
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$983k
- **Government grants:** NZ$0 (0.0% of revenue)
- **Donations:** NZ$6.92M
- **Staff costs:** NZ$1.51M
- **Paid staff:** 18
- **Volunteers:** 0
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=de65ecd2-c50e-f011-bb41-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-03-31 | NZ$15.65M | NZ$9.53M | NZ$6.11M | NZ$83.62M |
| 2024-03-31 | NZ$16.55M | NZ$8.30M | NZ$8.25M | NZ$77.51M |
| 2023-03-31 | NZ$3.09M | NZ$7.30M | not disclosed | NZ$69.26M |
| 2022-03-31 | NZ$6.18M | NZ$10.34M | not disclosed | NZ$73.46M |
| 2021-03-31 | NZ$13.55M | NZ$7.38M | not disclosed | NZ$77.62M |
| 2020-03-31 | NZ$12.95M | NZ$2.80M | not disclosed | NZ$71.45M |
| 2019-03-31 | NZ$10.23M | NZ$2.86M | not disclosed | NZ$65.42M |
| 2018-03-31 | NZ$12.45M | NZ$2.22M | not disclosed | NZ$65.54M |
| 2017-03-31 | NZ$15.93M | NZ$5.32M | not disclosed | NZ$58.22M |
| 2016-03-31 | NZ$6.55M | NZ$4.68M | not disclosed | NZ$47.60M |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 8 current (38 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes
- **Paid executives disclosed:** 13
- **Executive remuneration bands:** NZ$500k+
- **Auditor:** BDO Auckland
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified
- **Going concern:** the most recent audit report includes a going-concern reference

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC10341) and on the charity's profile page.

## Service providers

- BDO — auditor

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-10-01
- Financials: last updated 2026-05-29
- Rating: computed 2026-10-01
- This document generated: 2026-10-03

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/neurological-foundation-of-new-zealand
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/neurological-foundation-of-new-zealand/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/neurological-foundation-of-new-zealand/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC10341

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/neurological-foundation-of-new-zealand. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-10-03T16:15:30.211Z.