# Nelson Surf Lifesaving Club Incorporated

**Charities Register number:** CC55896
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2018-07-17
**Sector:** Education
**ICNPO group:** Education and Research
**Region:** Nelson
**NZBN:** 9429042675754
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

We aim to provide the highest quality of coastal surf lifesaving services to the local and regional community through non-profit activities such as water safety education, lifeguarding services, Skills development & training, as well as personal development and professionalism of our members.

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — Reports under the Tier 3/4 regime with limited disclosure and no detected red flags.
- **Status code:** `limited_disclosure`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2026-06-30)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$471k
- **Total expenses:** NZ$145k
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$326k
- **Total assets:** NZ$982k
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$15k
- **Net assets:** NZ$967k
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$259k
- **Government grants:** NZ$46k (9.8% of revenue)
- **Donations:** NZ$30k
- **Staff costs:** NZ$0
- **Reporting tier:** Tier3
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=b08a34da-1b75-f111-bb55-000d3acc4199&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-06-30 | NZ$471k | NZ$145k | NZ$326k | NZ$967k |
| 2025-06-30 | NZ$189k | NZ$136k | NZ$54k | NZ$641k |
| 2024-06-30 | NZ$171k | NZ$136k | NZ$35k | NZ$588k |
| 2023-06-30 | NZ$185k | NZ$112k | not disclosed | NZ$553k |
| 2022-06-30 | NZ$130k | NZ$126k | not disclosed | NZ$480k |
| 2021-06-30 | NZ$215k | NZ$112k | not disclosed | NZ$209k |
| 2020-06-30 | NZ$204k | NZ$88k | not disclosed | NZ$126k |
| 2019-06-30 | NZ$105k | NZ$67k | not disclosed | NZ$257k |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 10 current (28 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC55896) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **Mainland Foundation Limited** (foundation) — NZ$48k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **New Zealand Community Trust** (foundation) — NZ$36k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Pub Charity Limited** (foundation) — NZ$29k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Air Rescue Services Limited** (foundation) — NZ$19k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Lion Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$12k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **TAB New Zealand** (foundation) — NZ$10k, year ended 2024-12-31
- **TAB New Zealand** (foundation) — NZ$9k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Trillian Trust Limited** (foundation) — NZ$7k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **The Lion Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$5k, year ended 2021-12-31

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-24
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-27
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-28

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/nelson-surf-lifesaving-club-incorporated
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/nelson-surf-lifesaving-club-incorporated/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/nelson-surf-lifesaving-club-incorporated/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC55896

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/nelson-surf-lifesaving-club-incorporated. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-28T05:14:48.728Z.