# Nelson Hockey Association 1993 Incorporated

**Charities Register number:** CC37445
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2008-06-30
**Sector:** Arts & Culture
**ICNPO group:** Culture and Recreation
**Region:** Nelson
**NZBN:** 9429042752349
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

To operate Nelson Hockey in a manner that ensures the long term sustainability of hockey as a primary sport within the Nelson District and to foster long term relationships with neighbouring associations. To have the game of hockey seen and operated as a family sport accessible to all that encourages, supports and develops all age groups and capabilities.

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — Reports under the Tier 3/4 regime with limited disclosure and no detected red flags.
- **Status code:** `limited_disclosure`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-11-30)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$297k
- **Total expenses:** NZ$314k
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$-17k
- **Total assets:** NZ$725k
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$33k
- **Net assets:** NZ$692k
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$67k
- **Donations:** NZ$90k
- **Staff costs:** NZ$167k
- **Paid staff:** 3
- **Reporting tier:** Tier3
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=2366d290-7bce-f011-bb4d-000d3acc4199&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-11-30 | NZ$297k | NZ$314k | NZ$-17k | NZ$692k |
| 2024-11-30 | NZ$267k | NZ$312k | NZ$-45k | NZ$709k |
| 2023-11-30 | NZ$279k | NZ$317k | not disclosed | NZ$753k |
| 2022-11-30 | NZ$338k | NZ$374k | not disclosed | NZ$791k |
| 2021-11-30 | NZ$278k | NZ$302k | not disclosed | NZ$827k |
| 2020-11-30 | NZ$255k | NZ$254k | not disclosed | NZ$850k |
| 2019-11-30 | NZ$270k | NZ$314k | not disclosed | NZ$849k |
| 2018-11-30 | NZ$298k | NZ$315k | not disclosed | NZ$892k |
| 2017-11-30 | NZ$318k | NZ$365k | not disclosed | NZ$908k |
| 2016-11-30 | NZ$472k | NZ$467k | not disclosed | NZ$955k |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 4 current (39 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** no
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC37445) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **Mainland Foundation Limited** (foundation) — NZ$130k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **New Zealand Community Trust** (foundation) — NZ$100k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Pub Charity Limited** (foundation) — NZ$96k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Air Rescue Services Limited** (foundation) — NZ$10k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Trillian Trust Limited** (foundation) — NZ$9k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Trillian Trust** (foundation) — NZ$9k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **The Lion Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$8k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **TAB New Zealand** (foundation) — NZ$3k, year ended 2024-12-31

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-25
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-25
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-28

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/nelson-hockey-association-1993-incorporated
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/nelson-hockey-association-1993-incorporated/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/nelson-hockey-association-1993-incorporated/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC37445
- Charity website: http://www.nelsonhockey.org.nz

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/nelson-hockey-association-1993-incorporated. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-28T20:23:08.951Z.