# National Building Financial Capability Charitable Trust

**Charities Register number:** CC54862
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2017-10-25
**Sector:** Social Services
**ICNPO group:** Social Services
**Region:** Wellington
**NZBN:** 9429046168214
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

A national organisation dedicated to the development of a strong and capable network of local financial mentoring services that provide effective support for those experiencing financial stress or hardship.

## CharityData rating

- **Grade:** B+ (82.5 / 100)
- **Financial health:** 100/100
- **Governance:** 75/100
- **Transparency:** 65/100
- **Computed:** 2026-10-01 (methodology 3.11)
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** 1
  - trustees holding many concurrent board roles

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-06-30)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$3.40M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$3.49M
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$-89k
- **Total assets:** NZ$3.12M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$887k
- **Net assets:** NZ$2.23M
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$2.02M
- **Government grants:** NZ$2.50M (73.6% of revenue)
- **Donations:** NZ$164k
- **Staff costs:** NZ$1.57M
- **Paid staff:** 19
- **Volunteers:** 0
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=a483d484-4a56-f011-bb44-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-06-30 | NZ$3.40M | NZ$3.49M | NZ$-89k | NZ$2.23M |
| 2024-06-30 | NZ$3.62M | NZ$3.49M | NZ$135k | NZ$2.24M |
| 2023-06-30 | NZ$3.72M | NZ$3.75M | not disclosed | NZ$2.10M |
| 2022-06-30 | NZ$3.79M | NZ$3.41M | not disclosed | NZ$2.07M |
| 2021-06-30 | NZ$3.54M | NZ$3.02M | not disclosed | NZ$1.69M |
| 2020-06-30 | NZ$2.41M | NZ$1.82M | not disclosed | NZ$1.19M |
| 2019-06-30 | NZ$2.09M | NZ$1.67M | not disclosed | NZ$598k |
| 2018-06-30 | NZ$1.40M | NZ$1.22M | not disclosed | NZ$180k |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 8 current (20 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes
- **Auditor:** Moore Markhams Wellington Audit
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC54862) and on the charity's profile page.

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-10-01
- Financials: last updated 2026-05-29
- Rating: computed 2026-10-01
- This document generated: 2026-10-04

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/national-building-financial-capability-charitable-trust
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/national-building-financial-capability-charitable-trust/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/national-building-financial-capability-charitable-trust/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC54862

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/national-building-financial-capability-charitable-trust. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-10-04T21:49:22.277Z.