# Momentum Waikato Community Foundation

**Charities Register number:** CC49535
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2013-05-31
**Sector:** Social Services
**ICNPO group:** Social Services
**Region:** Hamilton
**NZBN:** 9429043246984
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

To provide support both financial and otherwise, for Community Organisations and for any Charitable Purposes; To promote and encourage generosity among the people of New Zealand towards Community Organisations and any Charitable Purpose; To establish and administer separate named funds within the Trust Fund in order to fulfil the wishes of individual donors who wish to support Community Organisations and any Charitable Purpose.

## CharityData rating

- **Grade:** B (75.5 / 100)
- **Financial health:** 90/100
- **Governance:** 75/100
- **Transparency:** 65/100
- **Computed:** 2026-09-26 (methodology 3.11)
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** 1
  - trustees holding many concurrent board roles

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-06-30)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$4.13M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$3.37M
- **Surplus / deficit:** not disclosed
- **Total assets:** NZ$41.07M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$514k
- **Net assets:** NZ$40.55M

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-06-30 | NZ$4.13M | NZ$3.37M | not disclosed | NZ$40.55M |
| 2024-06-30 | NZ$4.15M | NZ$2.45M | not disclosed | NZ$39.79M |
| 2023-06-30 | NZ$10.89M | NZ$2.59M | not disclosed | NZ$38.09M |
| 2022-06-30 | NZ$5.65M | NZ$6.21M | not disclosed | NZ$29.80M |
| 2021-06-30 | NZ$3.02M | NZ$3.82M | not disclosed | NZ$32.31M |
| 2020-06-30 | NZ$16.94M | NZ$4.69M | not disclosed | NZ$29.97M |
| 2019-06-30 | NZ$8.09M | NZ$8.56M | not disclosed | NZ$16.17M |
| 2018-06-30 | NZ$3.09M | NZ$805k | not disclosed | NZ$5.24M |
| 2017-06-30 | NZ$1.33M | NZ$1.81M | not disclosed | NZ$2.95M |
| 2016-06-30 | NZ$2.01M | NZ$502k | not disclosed | NZ$3.44M |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 9 current (27 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes
- **Auditor:** BDO Rotorua Limited
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC49535) and on the charity's profile page.

## Service providers

- BDO — auditor

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-24
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-24
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-28

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/momentum-waikato-community-foundation
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/momentum-waikato-community-foundation/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/momentum-waikato-community-foundation/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC49535
- Charity website: https://www.momentumwaikato.nz

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/momentum-waikato-community-foundation. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-28T17:23:19.981Z.