# Manawaru Historical Society Incorporated

**Charities Register number:** CC49466
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2013-06-20
**Sector:** Arts & Culture
**ICNPO group:** Culture and Recreation
**Region:** Te Aroha
**NZBN:** 9429043247073
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

To utilise the redundant Manawaru Dairy Factory and preserve and display in both word and artefacts the history of Manawaru

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — Small community organisation — the scorecard is not designed for entities at this scale.
- **Status code:** `community_group`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-04-30)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$594
- **Total expenses:** NZ$1k
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$-512
- **Total assets:** not disclosed
- **Total liabilities:** not disclosed
- **Net assets:** not disclosed
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$4k
- **Donations:** NZ$515
- **Staff costs:** NZ$0
- **Volunteers:** 0
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=f086f6ee-5926-f011-bb42-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-04-30 | NZ$594 | NZ$1k | NZ$-512 | not disclosed |
| 2024-04-30 | NZ$779 | NZ$2k | NZ$-1k | not disclosed |
| 2023-04-30 | NZ$3k | NZ$3k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2022-04-30 | NZ$9k | NZ$9k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2021-04-30 | NZ$15k | NZ$12k | not disclosed | NZ$10k |
| 2020-04-30 | NZ$3k | NZ$3k | not disclosed | NZ$13k |
| 2019-04-30 | NZ$6k | NZ$4k | not disclosed | NZ$15k |
| 2018-04-30 | NZ$11k | NZ$9k | not disclosed | NZ$13k |
| 2017-04-30 | NZ$3k | NZ$3k | not disclosed | NZ$11k |
| 2016-04-30 | NZ$1k | NZ$786 | not disclosed | NZ$11k |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 3 current (6 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC49466) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **Lion Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$1k, year ended 2021-12-31

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-23
- Financials: last updated 2026-05-29
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-28

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/manawaru-historical-society-incorporated
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/manawaru-historical-society-incorporated/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/manawaru-historical-society-incorporated/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC49466

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/manawaru-historical-society-incorporated. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-28T16:01:29.104Z.