# Life Education Trust Nelson/Tasman

**Charities Register number:** CC11260
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2007-10-03
**Sector:** Education
**ICNPO group:** Education and Research
**Region:** Richmond
**NZBN:** 9429043085071
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

Life Education is a childrens' charity. We visit local schools and teach 'Life Education' to children from pre-school up to year 8. Life Education supports students to: Develop life skills Make healthy choices Gain knowledge about health & their bodies Develop self esteem and a positive understanding of themselves Develop strategies for relating to themselves & others.

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — Reports under the Tier 3/4 regime with limited disclosure and no detected red flags.
- **Status code:** `limited_disclosure`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-12-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$100k
- **Total expenses:** NZ$151k
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$-51k
- **Total assets:** NZ$36k
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$37k
- **Net assets:** NZ$-611
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$27k
- **Government grants:** NZ$2k (2.0% of revenue)
- **Donations:** NZ$45k
- **Staff costs:** NZ$112k
- **Paid staff:** 2
- **Reporting tier:** Tier3
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=3dde3930-d8e6-f011-bb4e-000d3acc4199&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-12-31 | NZ$100k | NZ$151k | NZ$-51k | NZ$-611 |
| 2024-12-31 | NZ$137k | NZ$141k | NZ$-4k | NZ$50k |
| 2023-12-31 | NZ$139k | NZ$130k | NZ$9k | NZ$33k |
| 2022-12-31 | NZ$118k | NZ$121k | not disclosed | NZ$47k |
| 2021-12-31 | NZ$106k | NZ$128k | not disclosed | NZ$49k |
| 2020-12-31 | NZ$121k | NZ$131k | not disclosed | NZ$71k |
| 2019-12-31 | NZ$133k | NZ$134k | not disclosed | NZ$80k |
| 2018-12-31 | NZ$122k | NZ$106k | not disclosed | NZ$83k |
| 2017-12-31 | NZ$93k | NZ$116k | not disclosed | NZ$67k |
| 2016-12-31 | NZ$101k | NZ$117k | not disclosed | NZ$90k |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 6 current (27 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes
- **Auditor:** Moore Markhams
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC11260) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **Lion Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$40k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Mainland Foundation Limited** (foundation) — NZ$28k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **The Lion Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$20k, year ended 2021-12-31

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-25
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-25
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-28

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/life-education-trust-nelsontasman
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/life-education-trust-nelsontasman/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/life-education-trust-nelsontasman/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC11260
- Charity website: http://www.lifeeducation.org.nz

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/life-education-trust-nelsontasman. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-28T19:31:47.976Z.