# Lake Ōkāreka Volunteer Fire Brigade Incorporated

**Charities Register number:** CC37410
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2009-02-03
**Sector:** Social Services
**ICNPO group:** Social Services
**Region:** Rotorua
**NZBN:** 9429042657033
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

Fire and Emergency New Zealand - Lake Ōkāreka Volunteer Fire Brigade. The Lake Ōkāreka Station is a volunteer station in the Rotorua Region providing key emergency response for the Rotorua District and beyond.

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — Reports under the Tier 3/4 regime with limited disclosure and no detected red flags.
- **Status code:** `limited_disclosure`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** 1
  - trustees holding many concurrent board roles

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-03-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$12k
- **Total expenses:** NZ$31k
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$-18k
- **Total assets:** NZ$197k
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$331
- **Net assets:** NZ$197k
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$98k
- **Staff costs:** NZ$906
- **Volunteers:** 0
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=18a17e03-c80e-f011-bb41-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-03-31 | NZ$12k | NZ$31k | NZ$-18k | NZ$197k |
| 2024-03-31 | NZ$16k | NZ$19k | NZ$-2k | not disclosed |
| 2023-03-31 | NZ$12k | NZ$5k | NZ$7k | not disclosed |
| 2022-03-31 | NZ$21k | NZ$309k | not disclosed | NZ$264k |
| 2021-03-31 | NZ$180k | NZ$143k | not disclosed | NZ$552k |
| 2020-03-31 | NZ$21k | NZ$11k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2019-03-31 | NZ$19k | NZ$2k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2018-03-31 | NZ$294k | NZ$89k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2017-03-31 | NZ$77k | NZ$56k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2016-03-31 | NZ$13k | NZ$14k | not disclosed | not disclosed |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 8 current (44 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC37410) and on the charity's profile page.

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-23
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-25
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-29

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/lake-okareka-volunteer-fire-brigade-incorporated
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/lake-okareka-volunteer-fire-brigade-incorporated/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/lake-okareka-volunteer-fire-brigade-incorporated/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC37410

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/lake-okareka-volunteer-fire-brigade-incorporated. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-29T18:50:39.957Z.