# Kura Kai

**Charities Register number:** CC60354
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2022-08-03
**Sector:** Education
**ICNPO group:** Education and Research
**Region:** Mount Maunganui
**NZBN:** 9429048639026
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

To provide freezers and cooked meals with partnering secondary schools to provide relief in assisting whanau and teens with meals in times of need. Kura Kai will be administered to promote charitable purposes that support families, Schools and communities by: (a) Providing essential community services and support, including in response to poverty and emergency; (b) Supporting school, community events and projects; (c) Supporting the advancement of education (d) Adding resource & donating feezers

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — The charity type has not been classified yet, so no scoring template applies and the grade is withheld.
- **Status code:** `unclassified`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2026-03-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$130k
- **Total expenses:** NZ$127k
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$4k
- **Total assets:** not disclosed
- **Total liabilities:** not disclosed
- **Net assets:** not disclosed
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$113k
- **Donations:** NZ$57k
- **Staff costs:** NZ$0
- **Paid staff:** 2
- **Reporting tier:** Tier4

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-03-31 | NZ$130k | NZ$127k | NZ$4k | not disclosed |
| 2025-03-31 | NZ$147k | NZ$118k | NZ$30k | NZ$107k |
| 2024-03-31 | NZ$136k | NZ$124k | NZ$12k | not disclosed |
| 2023-03-31 | NZ$95k | NZ$99k | not disclosed | not disclosed |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 2 current (3 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** no

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC60354) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **The Lion Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$3k, year ended 2021-12-31

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-01
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-11
- Rating: computed 2026-09-11
- This document generated: 2026-09-11

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/kura-kai
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/kura-kai/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/kura-kai/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC60354

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/kura-kai. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-11T19:39:46.284Z.