# Ko Waitangi Te Awa Trust

**Charities Register number:** CC57243
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2019-11-12
**Sector:** Health
**ICNPO group:** Health
**Region:** Haruru
**NZBN:** 9429047575943
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

a) To support, maintain, foster and promote the preservation of the environment in the Te Tai Tokerau Area for the benefit of present and future generations; b) to promote the advancement of education in relation to environmental issues in the Te Tai Tokerau Area and elsewhere in NZ; c) to promote the creation of employment opportunities for disadvantaged members of the community within the Te Tai Tokerau Area with a view to improving their health, and economic wellbeing so as to reduce poverty generally in the community: d) to promote greater understanding of different cultures within the community so as to encourage tolerance, acceptance and appreciation of differences amongst cultural groups for the betterment of the community in the Te Tai Tokerau Area.

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — The charity type has not been classified yet, so no scoring template applies and the grade is withheld.
- **Status code:** `unclassified`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-06-30)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$491k
- **Total expenses:** NZ$521k
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$-31k
- **Total assets:** NZ$317k
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$141k
- **Net assets:** NZ$176k
- **Government grants:** NZ$397k (80.9% of revenue)
- **Donations:** NZ$0
- **Staff costs:** NZ$292k
- **Paid staff:** 7
- **Reporting tier:** Tier3
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=a81ce1cf-4956-f011-bb44-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-06-30 | NZ$491k | NZ$521k | NZ$-31k | NZ$176k |
| 2024-06-30 | NZ$807k | NZ$828k | NZ$-21k | NZ$207k |
| 2023-06-30 | NZ$630k | NZ$415k | NZ$215k | NZ$227k |
| 2022-03-31 | NZ$104k | NZ$97k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2021-03-31 | NZ$17k | NZ$11k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2020-03-31 | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 5 current (7 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** no
- **Auditor:** Forbes Audit
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC57243) and on the charity's profile page.

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-12
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-13
- Rating: computed 2026-09-12
- This document generated: 2026-09-13

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/ko-waitangi-te-awa-trust
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/ko-waitangi-te-awa-trust/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/ko-waitangi-te-awa-trust/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC57243

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/ko-waitangi-te-awa-trust. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-13T21:26:31.439Z.