# Kaitaia People's Centre Nga Hoa Awhina Incorporated

**Charities Register number:** CC11226
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2007-09-26
**Sector:** Education
**ICNPO group:** Education and Research
**Region:** Kaitaia
**NZBN:** 9429043038992
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

Kaitaia People’s Centre's purpose is to ensure that people in Kaitaia and the Far North do not suffer because they are unsure of their rights and responsibilities; are unaware of the services available to them or don't have the ability to express their needs effectively. In order to achieve our purpose, The Society operates a drop-in Centre, which provides free, to all individuals, an impartial and confidential service of information, guidance and support, and makes responsible use of the experience so gained. Our mission is to ensure individuals gain access to information relating to legal matters, government agencies and community organisations. In particular we will: -Advocate on behalf of clients who request this service -Maintain up-to-date information of local agencies and organisations -Maintain networks with organisations in the community to ensure The Society does not overlap services -Provide training for our volunteers

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — Reports under the Tier 3/4 regime with limited disclosure and no detected red flags.
- **Status code:** `limited_disclosure`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-03-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$140k
- **Total expenses:** NZ$130k
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$6k
- **Total assets:** not disclosed
- **Total liabilities:** not disclosed
- **Net assets:** not disclosed
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$19k
- **Donations:** NZ$567
- **Staff costs:** NZ$104k
- **Paid staff:** 2
- **Volunteers:** 0
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=02d0e702-c60e-f011-bb41-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-03-31 | NZ$140k | NZ$130k | NZ$6k | not disclosed |
| 2024-03-31 | NZ$136k | NZ$133k | NZ$3k | NZ$13k |
| 2023-03-31 | NZ$132k | NZ$128k | not disclosed | NZ$10k |
| 2022-03-31 | NZ$143k | NZ$131k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2021-03-31 | NZ$82k | NZ$118k | not disclosed | NZ$4k |
| 2020-03-31 | NZ$108k | NZ$94k | not disclosed | NZ$12k |
| 2019-03-31 | NZ$80k | NZ$106k | not disclosed | NZ$6k |
| 2018-03-31 | NZ$62k | NZ$91k | not disclosed | NZ$37k |
| 2017-03-31 | NZ$105k | NZ$79k | not disclosed | NZ$67k |
| 2016-03-31 | NZ$104k | NZ$76k | not disclosed | not disclosed |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 5 current (20 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC11226) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$150k, year ended 2024-03-31
- **Pub Charity Limited** (foundation) — NZ$125k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$50k, year ended 2025-03-31
- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$25k, year ended 2026-03-31
- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$25k, year ended 2022-03-31
- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$25k, year ended 2020-03-31
- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$25k, year ended 2019-03-31
- **Grassroots Trust Limited** (foundation) — NZ$10k, year ended 2021-12-31

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-25
- Financials: last updated 2026-05-29
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-29

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/kaitaia-peoples-centre-nga-hoa-awhina-incorporated
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/kaitaia-peoples-centre-nga-hoa-awhina-incorporated/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/kaitaia-peoples-centre-nga-hoa-awhina-incorporated/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC11226

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/kaitaia-peoples-centre-nga-hoa-awhina-incorporated. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-29T22:51:16.736Z.