# Kaibosh

**Charities Register number:** CC38367
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2009-03-10
**Sector:** Health
**ICNPO group:** Health
**Region:** Wellington
**NZBN:** 9429043092741
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

Kaibosh has a mission 'To be the link between the food industry and charities that support people in need.' Kaibosh has a vision of 'Zero Food Poverty, Zero Food Waste'.

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — Reports under the Tier 3/4 regime with limited disclosure and no detected red flags.
- **Status code:** `limited_disclosure`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-06-30)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$1.99M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$1.43M
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$562k
- **Total assets:** NZ$1.55M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$207k
- **Net assets:** NZ$1.34M
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$201k
- **Government grants:** NZ$143k (7.2% of revenue)
- **Donations:** NZ$990k
- **Staff costs:** NZ$998k
- **Paid staff:** 33
- **Volunteers:** 4
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=7faa7a79-4d56-f011-bb44-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-06-30 | NZ$1.99M | NZ$1.43M | NZ$562k | NZ$1.34M |
| 2024-06-30 | NZ$1.16M | NZ$1.38M | NZ$-217k | NZ$777k |
| 2023-06-30 | NZ$1.34M | NZ$1.27M | not disclosed | NZ$995k |
| 2022-06-30 | NZ$1.32M | NZ$1.12M | not disclosed | NZ$894k |
| 2021-06-30 | NZ$967k | NZ$972k | not disclosed | NZ$702k |
| 2020-06-30 | NZ$1.02M | NZ$718k | not disclosed | NZ$706k |
| 2019-06-30 | NZ$697k | NZ$592k | not disclosed | NZ$403k |
| 2018-06-30 | NZ$635k | NZ$539k | not disclosed | NZ$297k |
| 2017-06-30 | NZ$513k | NZ$469k | not disclosed | NZ$202k |
| 2016-06-30 | NZ$463k | NZ$384k | not disclosed | NZ$159k |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 10 current (31 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes
- **Auditor:** Moore Markhams
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC38367) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **Lion Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$44k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **The Lion Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$40k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Four Winds Foundation Limited** (foundation) — NZ$33k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Grassroots Trust Central Limited** (foundation) — NZ$32k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **New Zealand Community Trust** (foundation) — NZ$15k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Simplicity Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$11k, year ended 2025-03-31
- **Simplicity Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$10k, year ended 2022-03-31
- **Aotearoa Gaming Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$10k, year ended 2024-12-31
- **Simplicity Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$10k, year ended 2023-03-31
- **Simplicity Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$9k, year ended 2024-03-31

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-25
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-25
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-28

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/kaibosh
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/kaibosh/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/kaibosh/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC38367

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/kaibosh. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-28T02:00:59.535Z.