# Jolt Charitable Trust

**Charities Register number:** CC10460
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2007-06-14
**Sector:** Education
**ICNPO group:** Education and Research
**Region:** Christchurch
**NZBN:** 9429043178100
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

Jolt’s whānau currently comprises over 200 dancers with intellectual disabilities aged between 8 and 60+. Our inclusive teaching team work across 20 different weekly classes, nurturing the talents and building the skills of our dancers. Jolt Kaupapa * We believe communities that are inclusive, and which embrace diversity, are stronger * Jolt programmes are accessible; financially, physically, emotionally, culturally, and creatively * Our mahi is empowering and challenges the deficit view of disability * Our mahi embodies an expectation for excellence Jolt is the only company in Aotearoa to have created a dance teacher training programme for people with intellectual disabilities, known as Move. Move trainees demonstrate not only their capacity for leadership, but also their unique ability to connect with diverse communities and engage them in dance. Move-trained teachers are employed to teach in 10 different weekly Jolt classes.

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — Reports under the Tier 3/4 regime with limited disclosure and no detected red flags.
- **Status code:** `limited_disclosure`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-12-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$354k
- **Total expenses:** NZ$340k
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$15k
- **Total assets:** NZ$478k
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$114k
- **Net assets:** NZ$364k
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$256k
- **Government grants:** NZ$84k (23.6% of revenue)
- **Donations:** NZ$16k
- **Staff costs:** NZ$262k
- **Paid staff:** 21
- **Reporting tier:** Tier3
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=5ba73d2a-d8e6-f011-bb4e-000d3acc4199&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-12-31 | NZ$354k | NZ$340k | NZ$15k | NZ$364k |
| 2024-12-31 | NZ$371k | NZ$303k | NZ$68k | NZ$349k |
| 2023-12-31 | NZ$451k | NZ$318k | NZ$133k | NZ$281k |
| 2022-12-31 | NZ$327k | NZ$305k | not disclosed | NZ$150k |
| 2021-12-31 | NZ$188k | NZ$156k | not disclosed | NZ$127k |
| 2020-12-31 | NZ$134k | NZ$108k | not disclosed | NZ$94k |
| 2019-12-31 | NZ$135k | NZ$123k | not disclosed | NZ$68k |
| 2018-12-31 | NZ$119k | NZ$101k | not disclosed | NZ$58k |
| 2017-12-31 | NZ$113k | NZ$99k | not disclosed | NZ$39k |
| 2016-12-31 | NZ$104k | NZ$104k | not disclosed | NZ$26k |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 8 current (25 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** no
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC10460) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **New Zealand Community Trust** (foundation) — NZ$30k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Kiwi Gaming Foundation Limited** (foundation) — NZ$17k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Aotearoa Gaming Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$12k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **The Trusts Community Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$10k, year ended 2023-12-31
- **Pub Charity Limited** (foundation) — NZ$10k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **One Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$8k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Lion Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$5k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Aotearoa Gaming Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$5k, year ended 2024-12-31
- **The Trusts Community Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$5k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **The Lion Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$5k, year ended 2021-12-31

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-25
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-25
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-27

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/jolt-charitable-trust
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/jolt-charitable-trust/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/jolt-charitable-trust/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC10460

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/jolt-charitable-trust. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-27T23:50:11.548Z.