# John B Matthews Charitable Trust

**Charities Register number:** CC27260
**Status:** Deregistered (2024-08-28)
**Registered since:** 2008-06-30
**Sector:** Arts & Culture
**ICNPO group:** Culture and Recreation
**Region:** New Plymouth

## Purpose

To provide financial assistance to: Len Lye Foundation To the building and installation of kinetic sculptures conceived by Len Lye Assistance to Musicians and organizations involved in composing, performing, recording and promoting jazz music Assistance to individuals and/or organizations involved in architectural design To foster the study of NZ colonial history, in particular the Battle of Waireka Assistance to public art galleries for the presentation of visual arts and cultural exhibitions across al forms of art

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — No longer on the Charities Register.
- **Status code:** `deregistered`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2022-03-31)

- **Total revenue:** not disclosed
- **Total expenses:** NZ$6
- **Surplus / deficit:** not disclosed
- **Total assets:** NZ$2k
- **Total liabilities:** not disclosed
- **Net assets:** not disclosed
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$2k
- **Volunteers:** 0
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=5b23804b-83b1-ec11-bb11-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-03-31 | not disclosed | NZ$6 | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2021-03-31 | not disclosed | NZ$26 | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2020-03-31 | not disclosed | NZ$26 | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2019-03-31 | NZ$1 | NZ$14 | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2018-03-31 | NZ$5 | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2017-03-31 | NZ$11 | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2016-03-31 | NZ$19 | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2015-03-31 | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | NZ$2k |
| 2014-03-31 | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2013-03-31 | NZ$19 | NZ$100 | NZ$-81 | NZ$2k |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 6 current (10 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** no

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC27260) and on the charity's profile page.

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-01
- Financials: last updated 2026-04-25
- Rating: computed 2026-09-10
- This document generated: 2026-09-11

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/john-b-matthews-charitable-trust
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/john-b-matthews-charitable-trust/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/john-b-matthews-charitable-trust/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC27260

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/john-b-matthews-charitable-trust. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-11T08:24:45.422Z.