# Joan Fernie Charitable Trust Board

**Charities Register number:** CC28680
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2008-06-30
**Sector:** Community Development
**ICNPO group:** Development and Housing
**Region:** Napier
**NZBN:** 9429042666202
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

Makes grants to individuals. Makes grants to organisations.

## CharityData rating

- **Grade:** C+ (65.5 / 100)
- **Financial health:** 70/100
- **Governance:** 55/100
- **Transparency:** 85/100
- **Computed:** 2026-09-26 (methodology 3.11)
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-06-30)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$10.25M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$5.02M
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$5.23M
- **Total assets:** NZ$155.31M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$2.12M
- **Net assets:** NZ$153.19M
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$128k
- **Government grants:** NZ$0 (0.0% of revenue)
- **Donations:** NZ$0
- **Staff costs:** NZ$1.16M
- **Paid staff:** 17
- **Reporting tier:** Tier2
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=2ab1d436-4d56-f011-bb44-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-06-30 | NZ$10.25M | NZ$5.02M | NZ$5.23M | NZ$153.19M |
| 2024-06-30 | NZ$7.71M | NZ$10.10M | NZ$-2.39M | NZ$153.39M |
| 2023-06-30 | NZ$6.09M | NZ$3.64M | not disclosed | NZ$12.43M |
| 2022-06-30 | NZ$6.27M | NZ$2.11M | not disclosed | NZ$12.31M |
| 2021-06-30 | NZ$4.99M | NZ$1.98M | not disclosed | NZ$9.56M |
| 2020-06-30 | NZ$5.19M | NZ$5.99M | not disclosed | NZ$8.24M |
| 2019-06-30 | NZ$7.19M | NZ$1.84M | not disclosed | NZ$9.66M |
| 2018-06-30 | NZ$4.92M | NZ$1.73M | not disclosed | NZ$11.09M |
| 2017-06-30 | NZ$4.77M | NZ$1.76M | not disclosed | NZ$9.90M |
| 2016-06-30 | NZ$4.22M | NZ$1.64M | not disclosed | NZ$16.46M |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 4 current (9 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** no
- **Paid executives disclosed:** 3
- **Executive remuneration bands:** NZ$200k–300k
- **Auditor:** Baker Tilly Staples Rodway
- **Most recent audit opinion:** disclaimer

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC28680) and on the charity's profile page.

## Service providers

- Baker Tilly Staples Rodway — auditor

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-24
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-13
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-29

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/joan-fernie-charitable-trust-board
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/joan-fernie-charitable-trust-board/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/joan-fernie-charitable-trust-board/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC28680
- Charity website: https://www.joanfernietrust.org.nz

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/joan-fernie-charitable-trust-board. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-29T04:35:50.228Z.