{"@context":"https://schema.org","@type":"NGO","schema_version":"1.0","identity":{"name":"James & Florence Smaill Charitable Trust","slug":"james-florence-smaill-charitable-trust","charities_register_number":"CC49349","nzbn":null,"status":"registered","registration_date":"2013-05-15","deregistration_date":null,"entity_type":"endowment_foundation","sector":"Religion","icnpo_group":"Religion","region":"Wellington","city":"Wellington","country":"NZ","financial_year_end":null,"ird_donee_status":true,"operates_overseas":null,"website":null,"purpose":"The Charitable Trust was set up to pay an income in perpetuity to the following organisations: \r\n- The Marlborough Hospice Trust \r\n- Presbyterian Support Services (Upper South Island) \r\n- The New Zealand Institute for the Blind \r\n- Bethsaida Trust Board Incorporated\r\nThe Will does not specify equal distributions to the above organisations. There is no obligation to support all the above organisations at any one time.","mission":"The Charitable Trust was set up to pay an income in perpetuity to the following organisations: \r\n- The Marlborough Hospice Trust \r\n- Presbyterian Support Services (Upper South Island) \r\n- The New Zealand Institute for the Blind \r\n- Bethsaida Trust Board Incorporated\r\nThe Will does not specify equal distributions to the above organisations. There is no obligation to support all the above organisations at any one time."},"rating":{"rated":true,"grade":"B-","score":70.8,"score_scale":"0-100","financial_score":77.5,"governance_score":55,"transparency_score":65,"computed_date":"2026-09-26","methodology_version":"3.11","methodology_url":"https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology"},"red_flags":{"count":0,"types":[],"descriptions":[],"note":"Flags describe metrics that fall outside published methodology thresholds for this charity’s size and type. They are analytical observations about filed data, not findings of wrongdoing."},"financials_latest":{"year_ended":"2026-03-31","total_revenue_nzd":18476,"total_expenses_nzd":21049,"surplus_deficit_nzd":-2573,"total_assets_nzd":null,"total_liabilities_nzd":null,"net_assets_nzd":null,"cash_reserves_nzd":20355,"government_grants_nzd":null,"donations_nzd":0,"staff_costs_nzd":0,"paid_staff":null,"volunteers":null,"reporting_tier":"Tier4","financial_report_audited":null,"source_filing_pdf":"https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=9822444a-912d-f111-bb51-000d3acc4199&isPublic=true","consistency_warning":null},"financial_history":[{"year_ended":"2026-03-31","total_revenue_nzd":18476,"total_expenses_nzd":21049,"surplus_deficit_nzd":-2573,"net_assets_nzd":null,"source_filing_pdf":"https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=9822444a-912d-f111-bb51-000d3acc4199&isPublic=true"},{"year_ended":"2025-03-31","total_revenue_nzd":23322,"total_expenses_nzd":12628,"surplus_deficit_nzd":10694,"net_assets_nzd":null,"source_filing_pdf":"https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=d98158ac-c00e-f011-bb41-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true"},{"year_ended":"2024-03-31","total_revenue_nzd":18894,"total_expenses_nzd":20561,"surplus_deficit_nzd":-1667,"net_assets_nzd":null,"source_filing_pdf":"https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=9f55dd9e-edef-ee11-bb2f-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true"},{"year_ended":"2023-03-31","total_revenue_nzd":18275,"total_expenses_nzd":23302,"surplus_deficit_nzd":null,"net_assets_nzd":null,"source_filing_pdf":"https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=331432fc-52d0-ed11-bb1e-000d3acc4199&isPublic=true"},{"year_ended":"2022-03-31","total_revenue_nzd":20904,"total_expenses_nzd":19843,"surplus_deficit_nzd":null,"net_assets_nzd":null,"source_filing_pdf":"https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=1967cbae-81b1-ec11-bb11-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true"},{"year_ended":"2021-03-31","total_revenue_nzd":15584,"total_expenses_nzd":23455,"surplus_deficit_nzd":null,"net_assets_nzd":null,"source_filing_pdf":"https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=f573f024-b092-eb11-b43a-00155d6b7730&isPublic=true"},{"year_ended":"2020-03-31","total_revenue_nzd":8220,"total_expenses_nzd":17650,"surplus_deficit_nzd":null,"net_assets_nzd":null,"source_filing_pdf":"https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=20eb89a8-de73-ea11-ba6c-00155d6b7730&isPublic=true"},{"year_ended":"2019-03-31","total_revenue_nzd":20110,"total_expenses_nzd":68185,"surplus_deficit_nzd":null,"net_assets_nzd":null,"source_filing_pdf":"https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=49f4e325-4454-e911-953a-00155d6b7730&isPublic=true"},{"year_ended":"2018-03-31","total_revenue_nzd":14799,"total_expenses_nzd":799,"surplus_deficit_nzd":null,"net_assets_nzd":null,"source_filing_pdf":"https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=d42e28f9-7a35-e811-8102-00155d6b7730&isPublic=true"},{"year_ended":"2017-03-31","total_revenue_nzd":23514,"total_expenses_nzd":810,"surplus_deficit_nzd":null,"net_assets_nzd":617768,"source_filing_pdf":"https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=b3751994-54a9-e711-aae0-00155d6b7730&isPublic=true"}],"group_consolidated":null,"governance":{"current_officers":1,"total_officers_recorded":3,"chair_recorded":false,"paid_executives_disclosed":0,"executive_remuneration_bands":[],"auditor_firm":null,"latest_audit_opinion":null,"going_concern_referenced":false,"individuals_named":false,"individuals_note":"Officer and trustee names are deliberately omitted from this machine-readable view. They are public on the Charities Register and on the charity profile page."},"funders":{"named":[],"unnamed_count":0,"unnamed_note":"Funding sources that may be individuals, or whose type is unclassified, are counted but not named."},"service_providers":[],"links":{"profile":"https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/james-florence-smaill-charitable-trust","markdown":"https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/james-florence-smaill-charitable-trust/markdown","summary_md":"https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/james-florence-smaill-charitable-trust/summary.md","methodology":"https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology","official_register":"https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC49349","website":null},"freshness":{"register_as_of":"2026-09-23","financials_updated":"2026-09-13","rating_computed":"2026-09-26","generated_at":"2026-10-01T03:47:02.283Z","note":"Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register."},"attribution":{"publisher":"CharityData NZ","publisher_url":"https://charitydata.co.nz","primary_source":"Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs","licence":"CC BY 4.0 with attribution to CharityData NZ and Charities Services","disclaimer":"Analytical scores are CharityData’s own, computed under a published methodology from the charity’s own filings. They are not financial, legal or donation advice."}}