# Internet New Zealand Incorporated

**Charities Register number:** CC30982
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2008-06-30
**Sector:** Education
**ICNPO group:** Education and Research
**Region:** Wellington
**NZBN:** 9429043201563
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

The Society administers the .nz Domain Name Space for the collective benefit of Aotearoa New Zealand. It operates exclusively for charitable purposes, (including any purposes ancillary to those charitable purposes) namely benefiting the community by: a) Promoting and contributing to an open, global, resilient and secure Internet for current and future generations. b) Maintaining the .nz Domain Name Space to meet local and international standards and obligations. c) Promoting and supporting an Internet that users experience as fair, inclusive and accessible. d) Promoting and actively participating in multistakeholder Internet governance processes locally and internationally. e) Promoting and conducting research related to the development of the Internet. f) Collaborating with, and coordinating across, the wider Aotearoa New Zealand Internet community, the general public, Māori, New Zealand government agencies, and other organisations when giving effect to the above objects.

## CharityData rating

- **Grade:** C- (58.6 / 100)
- **Financial health:** 80.1/100
- **Governance:** 75/100
- **Transparency:** 85/100
- **Computed:** 2026-09-26 (methodology 3.11)
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** 1
  - staff costs above the methodology threshold

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2026-03-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$15.21M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$15.90M
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$-694k
- **Total assets:** NZ$25.78M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$15.13M
- **Net assets:** NZ$10.65M
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$3.09M
- **Government grants:** NZ$0 (0.0% of revenue)
- **Donations:** NZ$0
- **Staff costs:** NZ$6.49M
- **Paid staff:** 42
- **Reporting tier:** Tier2
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=30998275-922d-f111-bb51-000d3acc4199&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-03-31 | NZ$15.21M | NZ$15.90M | NZ$-694k | NZ$10.65M |
| 2025-03-31 | NZ$14.74M | NZ$14.92M | NZ$-179k | NZ$11.34M |
| 2024-03-31 | NZ$15.20M | NZ$13.93M | NZ$1.27M | NZ$11.52M |
| 2023-03-31 | NZ$14.02M | NZ$13.44M | not disclosed | NZ$10.25M |
| 2022-03-31 | NZ$13.31M | NZ$13.19M | not disclosed | NZ$9.67M |
| 2021-03-31 | NZ$12.39M | NZ$13.01M | not disclosed | NZ$9.55M |
| 2020-03-31 | NZ$11.57M | NZ$12.40M | not disclosed | NZ$10.17M |
| 2019-03-31 | NZ$11.74M | NZ$11.14M | not disclosed | NZ$11.00M |
| 2018-03-31 | NZ$5.52M | NZ$4.57M | not disclosed | NZ$7.34M |
| 2017-03-31 | NZ$5.04M | NZ$4.35M | not disclosed | NZ$6.39M |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 10 current (65 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes
- **Paid executives disclosed:** 26
- **Executive remuneration bands:** under NZ$100k, NZ$200k–300k, NZ$500k+, NZ$300k–500k
- **Auditor:** Grant Thornton
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC30982) and on the charity's profile page.

## Service providers

- Grant Thornton — auditor

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-25
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-13
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-28

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/internet-new-zealand-incorporated
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/internet-new-zealand-incorporated/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/internet-new-zealand-incorporated/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC30982

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/internet-new-zealand-incorporated. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-28T01:23:49.971Z.