# Independent Living Service Trust

**Charities Register number:** CC51568
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2015-04-19
**Sector:** Health
**ICNPO group:** Health
**Region:** Auckland
**NZBN:** 9429043263530
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

Independent Living is a not-for-profit, community focused organisation committed to making daily living easier for disabled people, people with impairments, their families/whanau and support networks. Our vision is made possible by providing current information about support services, assistive products and general information so that disabled people are able to make informed decisions about solutions that work for them to live the life they want. Our information services are free and available for everyone. ILS is a charitable trust with revenue streams that supports the provision of these services.

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — This charity is not currently rated.
- **Status code:** `group_member`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2019-03-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$3.29M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$3.63M
- **Surplus / deficit:** not disclosed
- **Total assets:** NZ$3.35M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$429k
- **Net assets:** NZ$2.92M
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$55k
- **Donations:** NZ$38k
- **Paid staff:** 29
- **Volunteers:** 0
- **Financial report audited:** yes
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=f44fc9f5-4354-e911-953a-00155d6b7730&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2019-03-31 | NZ$3.29M | NZ$3.63M | not disclosed | NZ$2.92M |
| 2018-03-31 | NZ$3.28M | NZ$3.60M | not disclosed | NZ$2.92M |
| 2017-03-31 | NZ$3.13M | NZ$3.27M | not disclosed | NZ$3.24M |
| 2016-03-31 | NZ$2.97M | NZ$3.08M | not disclosed | NZ$3.37M |
| 2015-03-31 | NZ$3.13M | NZ$3.05M | NZ$80k | NZ$882k |

## Group consolidated filing

This charity is part of **Independent Living Group**, which files a consolidated return. For the year ended 2025-03-31 the group reported revenue of NZ$3.62M and expenses of NZ$3.76M.

Where a member files an empty individual return, the group figures are where the activity sits.

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 6 current (22 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC51568) and on the charity's profile page.

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-01
- Financials: last updated 2026-04-25
- Rating: computed 2026-09-11
- This document generated: 2026-09-11

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/independent-living-service-trust
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/independent-living-service-trust/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/independent-living-service-trust/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC51568

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/independent-living-service-trust. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-11T14:12:56.129Z.