# iHow Charitable Trust

**Charities Register number:** CC54673
**Status:** Deregistered (2026-04-24)
**Registered since:** 2017-07-11
**Sector:** Education
**ICNPO group:** Education and Research
**Region:** Palmerston North
**NZBN:** 9429046313454
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

The charitable purposes of the Trust are to advance education and provide other services beneficial to the community by: a) Providing driver licensing workshops and courses; b) Removing barriers for people aged 16 and upwards to obtain legal driving status; c) To produce educational resources and materials on driving; d) Carry out such other purposes as are charitable under the law of New Zealand as the Trustees shall determine;

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — No longer on the Charities Register.
- **Status code:** `deregistered`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2022-06-30)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$310k
- **Total expenses:** NZ$281k
- **Surplus / deficit:** not disclosed
- **Total assets:** NZ$283k
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$147k
- **Net assets:** NZ$135k
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$67k
- **Donations:** NZ$10k
- **Paid staff:** 11
- **Volunteers:** 0
- **Financial report audited:** no
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=d2c163cf-0cf9-ec11-bb15-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-06-30 | NZ$310k | NZ$281k | not disclosed | NZ$135k |
| 2021-06-30 | NZ$327k | NZ$315k | not disclosed | NZ$90k |
| 2020-06-30 | NZ$324k | NZ$281k | not disclosed | NZ$78k |
| 2019-06-30 | NZ$252k | NZ$247k | not disclosed | NZ$35k |
| 2018-06-30 | NZ$200k | NZ$169k | not disclosed | NZ$31k |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 5 current (6 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC54673) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **Lion Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$10k, year ended 2021-12-31

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-25
- Financials: last updated 2026-04-25
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-28

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/ihow-charitable-trust
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/ihow-charitable-trust/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/ihow-charitable-trust/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC54673

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/ihow-charitable-trust. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-28T22:09:16.095Z.