# Ian McLean Wards Memorial Trust

**Charities Register number:** CC37456
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2008-06-30
**Sector:** Education
**ICNPO group:** Education and Research
**Region:** Wellington
**NZBN:** 9429042877066
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

To support the long-term sustainability of cultural and heritage institutions. To sponsor visits to and within New Zealand of persons calculated to advance the aforesaid purposes. To provide scholarships, travel and other grants and bursaries for the education, training and advancement of persons engaged in or interested in the aforesaid purposes. To apply available funds to any other body or institution which is capable of implementing any of the foregoing objects. To provide educational benefits, facilities and encouragement for persons engaged in the arts and the promotion of cultural interests.

## CharityData rating

- **Grade:** B (76.8 / 100)
- **Financial health:** 77.5/100
- **Governance:** 75/100
- **Transparency:** 65/100
- **Computed:** 2026-09-12 (methodology 3.8)
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2026-03-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$7k
- **Total expenses:** NZ$15k
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$-8k
- **Total assets:** not disclosed
- **Total liabilities:** not disclosed
- **Net assets:** not disclosed
- **Donations:** NZ$0
- **Staff costs:** NZ$0
- **Reporting tier:** Tier4

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-03-31 | NZ$7k | NZ$15k | NZ$-8k | not disclosed |
| 2025-03-31 | NZ$2k | NZ$2k | NZ$-51 | not disclosed |
| 2024-03-31 | NZ$10k | not disclosed | NZ$10k | not disclosed |
| 2023-03-31 | NZ$4k | NZ$2k | NZ$2k | not disclosed |
| 2022-03-31 | NZ$1k | NZ$6k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2021-03-31 | NZ$3k | NZ$34k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2020-03-31 | NZ$9k | NZ$12k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2019-03-31 | NZ$9k | NZ$9k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2018-03-31 | NZ$6k | NZ$843 | not disclosed | NZ$283k |
| 2017-03-31 | NZ$10k | NZ$14k | not disclosed | NZ$278k |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 5 current (8 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC37456) and on the charity's profile page.

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-01
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-11
- Rating: computed 2026-09-12
- This document generated: 2026-09-13

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/ian-mclean-wards-memorial-trust
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/ian-mclean-wards-memorial-trust/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/ian-mclean-wards-memorial-trust/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC37456

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/ian-mclean-wards-memorial-trust. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-13T08:03:32.828Z.