# Hutton Wilson Charitable Trust

**Charities Register number:** CC10699
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2007-07-26
**Sector:** Other
**Region:** Auckland
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

The purpose of the Trust is investment and charitable distribution.

## CharityData rating

- **Grade:** B (75.3 / 100)
- **Financial health:** 84/100
- **Governance:** 55/100
- **Transparency:** 85/100
- **Computed:** 2026-09-26 (methodology 3.11)
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-06-30)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$54.03M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$35.79M
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$18.24M
- **Total assets:** NZ$264.72M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$5.90M
- **Net assets:** NZ$258.82M
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$11.68M
- **Government grants:** NZ$0 (0.0% of revenue)
- **Donations:** NZ$497k
- **Staff costs:** NZ$7.17M
- **Paid staff:** 1
- **Volunteers:** 0
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=2ceffc22-4c56-f011-bb44-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-06-30 | NZ$54.03M | NZ$35.79M | NZ$18.24M | NZ$258.82M |
| 2024-06-30 | NZ$57.71M | NZ$29.82M | NZ$27.90M | NZ$240.58M |
| 2023-06-30 | NZ$52.29M | NZ$31.35M | not disclosed | NZ$212.68M |
| 2022-06-30 | NZ$20.53M | NZ$46.48M | not disclosed | NZ$191.74M |
| 2021-06-30 | NZ$57.86M | NZ$26.26M | not disclosed | NZ$217.99M |
| 2020-06-30 | NZ$19.54M | NZ$23.41M | not disclosed | NZ$186.40M |
| 2019-06-30 | NZ$51.56M | NZ$13.82M | not disclosed | NZ$158.37M |
| 2018-06-30 | NZ$17.64M | NZ$18.29M | not disclosed | NZ$129.84M |
| 2017-06-30 | NZ$2.24M | NZ$1.84M | not disclosed | NZ$123.51M |
| 2016-06-30 | NZ$4.07M | NZ$1.48M | not disclosed | NZ$113.20M |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 2 current (4 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** no
- **Paid executives disclosed:** 4
- **Executive remuneration bands:** NZ$500k+
- **Auditor:** PricewaterhouseCoopers
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC10699) and on the charity's profile page.

## Service providers

- Price Waterhouse Coopers — auditor

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-23
- Financials: last updated 2026-05-29
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-27

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/hutton-wilson-charitable-trust
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/hutton-wilson-charitable-trust/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/hutton-wilson-charitable-trust/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC10699

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/hutton-wilson-charitable-trust. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-27T23:46:04.177Z.