# Hutt Valley Women's Refuge Incorporated

**Charities Register number:** CC23091
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2008-04-16
**Sector:** Social Services
**ICNPO group:** Social Services
**Region:** Lower Hutt
**NZBN:** 9429042746041
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

To provide specialised services to women, children and families experiencing and rebuilding from family violence

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — Reports under the Tier 3/4 regime with limited disclosure and no detected red flags.
- **Status code:** `limited_disclosure`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-06-30)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$1.70M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$1.33M
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$372k
- **Total assets:** NZ$1.29M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$59k
- **Net assets:** NZ$1.23M
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$1.18M
- **Government grants:** NZ$1.34M (78.5% of revenue)
- **Donations:** NZ$147k
- **Staff costs:** NZ$1.17M
- **Paid staff:** 10
- **Volunteers:** 0
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=5a89effc-c50e-f011-bb41-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-06-30 | NZ$1.70M | NZ$1.33M | NZ$372k | NZ$1.23M |
| 2024-03-31 | NZ$1.29M | NZ$1.07M | NZ$213k | NZ$855k |
| 2023-03-31 | NZ$895k | NZ$860k | not disclosed | NZ$642k |
| 2022-03-31 | NZ$1.03M | NZ$812k | not disclosed | NZ$608k |
| 2021-03-31 | NZ$778k | NZ$682k | not disclosed | NZ$389k |
| 2020-03-31 | NZ$659k | NZ$532k | not disclosed | NZ$292k |
| 2019-03-31 | NZ$507k | NZ$470k | not disclosed | NZ$165k |
| 2018-03-31 | NZ$410k | NZ$378k | not disclosed | NZ$128k |
| 2017-03-31 | NZ$360k | NZ$304k | not disclosed | NZ$97k |
| 2016-03-31 | NZ$268k | NZ$276k | not disclosed | NZ$41k |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 8 current (35 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes
- **Auditor:** PKF Kendons
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC23091) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **New Zealand Community Trust** (foundation) — NZ$10k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Pub Charity Limited** (foundation) — NZ$5k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Trust House Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$3k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Pelorus Trust** (foundation) — NZ$2k, year ended 2021-12-31

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-25
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-25
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-28

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/hutt-valley-womens-refuge-incorporated
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/hutt-valley-womens-refuge-incorporated/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/hutt-valley-womens-refuge-incorporated/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC23091

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/hutt-valley-womens-refuge-incorporated. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-28T17:08:53.142Z.