# Hugo Charitable Trust

**Charities Register number:** CC54425
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2017-05-04
**Sector:** Education
**ICNPO group:** Education and Research
**Region:** Lake Hayes
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

Every charitable purpose, whether the relief of poverty, the advancement of education or religion, or any other matter beneficial to the community.

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — The most recent annual return on the register is too old to score.
- **Status code:** `stale_data`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2020-03-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$4.24M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$4.65M
- **Surplus / deficit:** not disclosed
- **Total assets:** NZ$75.06M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$19k
- **Net assets:** NZ$75.04M
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$1.17M
- **Donations:** NZ$552k
- **Volunteers:** 0
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=3db2e767-df73-ea11-ba6c-00155d6b7730&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2020-03-31 | NZ$4.24M | NZ$4.65M | not disclosed | NZ$75.04M |
| 2019-03-31 | NZ$3.69M | NZ$3.50M | not disclosed | NZ$75.45M |
| 2018-03-31 | NZ$78.27M | NZ$3.01M | not disclosed | NZ$75.26M |

## Group consolidated filing

This charity is part of **Hugo Charitable Trust Group**, which files a consolidated return. For the year ended 2026-03-31 the group reported revenue of NZ$6.48M and expenses of NZ$4.54M.

Where a member files an empty individual return, the group figures are where the activity sits.

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 5 current (12 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** no
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC54425) and on the charity's profile page.

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-12
- Financials: last updated 2026-04-25
- Rating: computed 2026-09-12
- This document generated: 2026-09-13

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/hugo-charitable-trust
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/hugo-charitable-trust/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/hugo-charitable-trust/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC54425

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/hugo-charitable-trust. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-13T05:37:51.870Z.